We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baklava, crumble and brownies....yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Salt and Snails

Rock Salt and Snails
2 Bridge St, Ballater, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
belfast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Baklava, crumble and brownies....yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A great coffee shop that sells wine, their sharing platters are lovely and if you are lucky enough to get a sunny day you can sit outside. The baklava is amazing. The perfect mix of sweet light pastry. Delicious! The brownies are also great. Expensive enough but good quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    39
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is worth a visit for the name alone. The menu is imaginative but may be too adventurous for some. Prices are very reasonable. Home soups delicious and salads made with really tasty dressings. Black Isle bier on sale too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't let the snails put you off this different eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A lovely find. Mainly light bites. Great coffee. Fab cranberry scones. Can of San Pellegrino lemonade extortionately marked up if you drink it in. It doesn't equate to the reasonable mark ups on everything else. Hard to find good places to eat in Ballater for evening meals, so decided to try here as they do (unusual) pie & mash. It was delicious, as was my Panini. I would say the portions could do with being a little larger when served as an evening meal. Lovely staff & décor is trendy & comfortable. prices reasonable (other than the San P!).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cafe culture in sunny Ballater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely impromptu lunch at this great bistro/cafe in Ballater, Royal Deeside. Delicious warm paninis with lovely cous cous and salads. Our speciality coffees were served in lovely chunky big pottery mugs. Sitting outside in the sunshine at one of the pavement tables we really enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy loveliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Wanting coffee and cakes we headed here one afternoon and it was lovely. Slices of unctious cakes and tray bakes and great hot chocolate. The atmosphere, decor and menu looked great - I regretted I didn't have the opportunity to have a meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Salt and Snails also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Rock Salt and Snails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Salt and Snails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.