We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if in Ballater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Salt and Snails

Rock Salt and Snails
2 Bridge St, Ballater, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
scottish highlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must if in Ballater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have to agree they do serve the best coffee in Deeside! A lovely varied menu using quality ingredients all made from scratch.
Service comes with a welcoming smile,the girls simply can't do enough for you!
With regards previous posts about evening meals & drinks I believe they are open some nights of the week and have been for some months now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    39
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballater, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great place for Ballater!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The best coffee in Deeside,The salads are very varied and great value. I had the surf &turf which was brillant. Again great value.this place is 10 out of 10 . You must give it ago.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not very good atmosphere!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Went in a couple of weeks ago and was quite happy with the place, very nice small coffee shop, i had a slice of victoria sponge, i felt i was constantly being watched... I also found a long hair in my food. When i went out there was no "thank-you" or "goodbye"

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best coffee shop in Deeside, bar none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This coffee shop is fantastic! The food is delicious, the atmosphere is wonderful, the staff are all SO welcoming and friendly. To top it all off, the coffee is actually good, better than good, it's superb!!

Too many "coffee shops" nowadays are just gift shops that serve what barely passes for a coffee. Rocksalt is a delightful exception to this all-too-common phenomenon.

Their new festive range of food is unbelievably tasty. I can't recommend the 'Deer Santa' or '3 Kings' pies highly enough. Truly unique and just what you need after a cold hike up the hills around Ballater.

Keep up the fantastic work guys!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little cafe with a big heart and excellent food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this little cafe with a big heart. The staff are just the best always so helpful, cheery and happy. I have even seen them do a dance routine, yes you Reesha, Laura and Davinia and Sean once gave me a waltzing lesson!

The food is fantastic especially the salads and the highland surf and turf of salmon and venison. A great range of soft drinks and now wine and beer. The best flat white coffee I've tasted too.

Thank you so much for all the great times I have had here

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Salt and Snails also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Rock Salt and Snails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Salt and Snails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.