We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food from takeaway service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochnagar Brasserie

Lochnagar Brasserie
2 Church Square, Ballater AB35 5NE, Scotland
01339755611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: I may have got the road address wrong but this is a new restaurant in Ballater, Scotland and it is excellent. I would like to submit a review.
WALES
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food from takeaway service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a take away but food was very tasty with good size portions . Free poppadum and chutneys with take away. Friendly staff. Good service. Great food. What more do you need? Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    42
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballater
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another lovely meal on Friday night. Starters were lovely and main course lovely. If you want water order it early as they seem to forget the water but not the wine. Maybe slightly larger rice portions would be good which I found normally the opposite at an Indian restaurant. Service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Once again, a great meal with friendly service. Asked for mixed starters which were excellent and great value. Asked for a slight variation on one dish which was no problem. Tried the lemon and cashew rice as recommended on another review, quite a refreshing change. All food presented well and great service throughout. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I came here on a Friday evening whilst visiting Ballater. One of the best curries we've had. Service is good too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best curry for miles and miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Since we moved to Aboyne the Lochnagar in Ballater has become our curry house of choice. Nothing on Deeside can match the quality, service and price. Staff are all excellent and happy to have a chat with customers if they are not too busy. Excellent choice of dishes on the menu. All cooked to perfection and taste great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochnagar Brasserie also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Lochnagar Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochnagar Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.