We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay. Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osborne House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Osborne House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4 Dundarroch Road, Ballater AB35 5NP, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Ballater B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay. Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My friend and myself arrived after a day of cycling in the rain over the mountains to get Ballater. We arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome from Neil. The house is stunning and our room was perfect. Our breakfast in the morning was first class and set in a stunning dining room overlooking the garden.

I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thanks for taking time to post your review. We are always pleased to get feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the view of the garden from the dining room. With any luck the weather will be better on your next visit, and you can take breakfast on the verandah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Two Australian couples travelling around Scotland by car,stumbled by chance on this little gem. Neil and Heather had only been open for 10 weeks when we arrived at their lovely home. They welcomed us into their home and beautiful garden. Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness on guest's needs.Lesley C

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thanks for posting your positive review. We have been busy for our first ten weeks; we have really enjoyed our new business and having so many pleasant and interesting guests. We really appreciate the feedback and are encouraged that we heading in the right direction with the B&B at Osborne House. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Scotland all the way from Australia; we very much look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

When you read such great reviews about a place on Trip advisor you assume that they have been posted by the owners but I have to say that my stay in Osborne house was lovely.

Spent one night there last weekend and it was an absolute pleasure. The bedroom was cozy with fantastic beds and at night it was silent. The double doors into the bedroom via the toilet and shower room entrance meant that you couldnt hear a thing in the rest of the house. The breakfast on Sunday morning was an Aga cooked treat and they even catered for my gluten free diet after only mentioning it is passing once.

Heather and Neil are so relaxed and at ease in running the place you would think they have been doing it for years when in fact its only a fewe months. The lounge area was comfy and the garden was gorgeous. Heather and Neil have a wealth of knowledge about the area with good advice for walks to enjoy the autumn colours and are happy to chat or leave you in peace depending how you feel. With only two rooms and another single if required the place is not too busy and due to its size you feel like the only people there.

All in all the stay was brilliant and I would thoroughly recommend Osborne house if you are looking for a quiet, relaxed and comfortable stay and a base to Explore Deeside.

Head there now and get the best out of the changing trees.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take the East bedroom, pure silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thanks for taking time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed the tranquility of our location; it is lovely and quiet away from the main road. We were pleased to cater for your gluten-free diet, and glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Heather and Neil may only have been doing B&B for a few months but you wouldn't know it. From the warm welcome; the tea and home bakes in the lounge; the excellent breakfast; and general "feel good" atmosphere about Osborne House, one would think they were seasoned professionals.

The ensuite room was very comfortable and well appointed and we appreciated the fresh milk and lemon water provided with the tea/coffee tray.

Havng arrived very wet after cycling to Ballater, the use of the garage for our bikes and drying facilities were also very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent - delicious porridge with cream and lovely scrambled eggs to mention but two of the selection available.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thanks for taking time to post a review; we really appreciate the feedback. It's a shame the weather had been so wet, but no trouble to store the bikes and use the boiler room and drier. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Osborne House is the greatest place in Scotland and it was a pleasure to stay there.

Neil and Heather are very lovely, helpful and careful people and we loved the familiar atmosphere in Osborne House, with great discussions, evenings and activities.

Osborne House is a fantastic plase to relax and have a great time.

The Breakfast was absolutely delicious, fresh and lovingly prepared, the garden, the house and the rooms lovingly designed.

Further, the rooms are very comfortable with everything for successful holidays.

We would like to come back and hope, that Neil and Heather make the B&B for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Many thanks for this review. We have been busy since opening in July, and appreciate the positive response to the effort we have made establishing Osborne House as a B&B. It was a pleasure to have you stay for a fortnight; we're glad you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A very nice place! Heather and Neil are fantastic persons: it seems to be at home. They gently prepare the "tea time" and the breakfast was very good!!! I loved to stay in the beautiful room with view!We plan to return and to spend more time in Ballater!We strongly reccomend the Osborne House, if you plan a trip in Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Many thanks for the kind feedback and recommendation. We always prepare a freshly cooked breakfast, which we're glad you appreciated. We look forward to your return visit and seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We found this B&B on the Internet and we can warmly recommend it. The room was almost like a suite in a first class hotel. Every evening a tray with home made shortbread and lemon water was put in our room along with tea and coffee. The host and hostess were very amiable and we had some wonderful conversations on a lot of interesting topics.
The house has a lovely garden full of lavender and the hearty Scottish breakfast was served in an elegant room with a view over the garden. Osborne House B&B is situated just outside the village center yet close to nature and the beautiful Seven Bridges Walk. Perfect for couples!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you found the website; we try to provide useful information about Osborne House online, including photos and reviews. We are lucky that our guest bedrooms are large, with generously sized ensuite rooms as well - it's fabulous to have them compared to a first class suite! The Seven Bridges is our favourite walk to do from the house; we're glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Dundarroch Road, Ballater AB35 5NP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osborne House is a pretty, Victorian house set in a quiet spot close the centre of Ballater. There are two large double/twin bedrooms, both are en suite. There is a single room on the ground floor with its own private facilities. We offer a choice of delicious home-cooked breakfasts: salmon and scrambled eggs, muesli, fresh fruit and yoghurt, porridge and cream or our Aga-cooked hot breakfast with black pudding and bacon. All breakfasts are served with freshly ground coffee, fruit juice and home-baked bread. Guests can relax in the spacious drawing room where there is a television and open fire. Breakfast is served in the dining room which looks out onto the garden.You can be assured of a warm welcome at Osborne House, guests who arrive at tea-time are offered a complimentary slice of home-make cake or a flapjack and coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osborne House Bed And Breakfast Ballater, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.