We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great watering hole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel Restaurant

Alexandra Hotel Restaurant
12 Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
013397 55376
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great watering hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The family 6 of us called in at the Alexandra for a late lunch at the end of the 7 Bridges Walk around Ballater. The Alexandra is clean and tidy and was quite busy. The landlady was very helpful and without asking brought out two extra chairs so that we could all sit together. The excellent bar meals, including portions of chips to die for, arrived promptly and without fuss after ordering . All consumed and washed down with fine (real) ale - couldn't be beaten on the whole holiday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“" Lovely Hotel "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a meal here with family who stay in Ballater and eat here often. Food was great and staff were very friendly & welcoming. Would highly recommend The Alexandra

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our first pub in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I arrived at our time share in Ballater hungry and thirsty from a long trip from the United States. We found the Alexandra Hotel and walked into a most delightful pub. The interior is well lit and looked to be recently renovated. The staff was very welcoming and I had a pint in front of me almost before I had my coat off. The food was excellent. My wife enjoyed a serving of fish and chips and I had the smoked salmon sandwich ( I highly recommend both!) we frequented the Alexandra during our week in Ballater enjoying food and drink on four different occasions. Each visit was a delight. We are returning to Ballater next week for a second Scottish vacation and the Alexandra is again our first scheduled stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We selected the Alexandra Hotel restaurant for dinner one evening. We prebooked but subsequently the restaurant wasn't busy. We received a lukewarm welcome by a female member of staff and were seated. We ordered our drinks (which didn't turn up) so reordered them with our food order. My wife enjoyed her lamb chops and fresh vegetables. I selected the meat pie with fresh vegetables and chips!! which was acceptable, although a strange combination. The meal seemed to take forever to arrive with no apology when it did. There was absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant whatsoever. The owner never exchanged any words with us until we paid the bill. Wouldn't revisit as we felt we received poor hospitality and the food was basic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brilliant food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Alexander for dinner with family whilst passing through Ballater. Food was absolutely fantastic. Fresh vegetables and delicious lamb and fish. Good portions and prices. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Alexandra Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.