We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful location but lodges need an update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5XA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Blissful location but lodges need an update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Been here several times. It is so peaceful with abundant birdlife and red squirrels in the grounds. Easy to get to Ballater.

My only concern is that the bathrooms are really in need of an update to go with the Hilton image. Shower was very week and avocado suites are so 1970's! Kitchens seem to be better than before and new patio doors are nice so I expect that they will get around to the bathrooms soon.....

Wireless internet service is hopeless at peak times but fine early in the moring.

I would still recommend it!

Room Tip: The new suites are apparently excellent but we stay in a lodge so n/a to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    152
    83
    48
    37
See reviews for
104
248
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Accommodation was of a high quality with some dated and tired aspects.The steam room at the leisure club requires a deep clean including the changing rooms.The leisure area is constantly wet with the attendants being absorbed with their mobile phones rather than improving the environment.
Extensive works to the Hotel ensure a noisy reception but the transformation will be significant.
Bar and reception staff including colleagues in the restaurant were excellent and the evening meals are of a high quality and standard.
An excellent location for exploring the beautiful countryside - we would recommend this venue - it has the potential of a 5 star experience but more TLC is needed in some areas.

Room Tip: Keep away from the Lodges close to the reception due to building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Hilton Craigendarroch, as owners. Stayed in Lodge 1 with amazing views from the balcony up the valley towards Balmoral. We could watch the weather as it changed from snow, to rain, to sun and back again, with the light falling across the mountains. The lodge was in a good state with a nicely furnished kitchen (some appliances where so new that they were still in their boxes). Heaters, as many others have commented, were certainly needed since the temperature was down very low at night and there fresh falls of snow - i do wonder how the electricity charges are calculated though since the week cost just over £55 which did seem somewhat high. Note that the bedrooms are all on timeswitch-based heaters and can get pretty cold in the winter - a extra blanket certainly helps!

As you may know, the main house is being refurbished and turned into new apartments. The work is due to finish in the summer, so there are workman there right now but the noise is not bad at all. Will be interesting to see what the new restaurant will be like. The swimming pool was at a very nice temperature too, making it a real pleasure to swim. The men's locker area could do with some improvements though.

Did a few good walks in the area as well as horse riding over at Glen Tannar in brilliant sunshine. Also went to Dunnotrar Castle, near Stonehaven. A real find! well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We've been visiting Hilton Craigendarroch for over sixteen years. Most of that time as owners.
We stayed in Lodge 307 which is one of only two lodges which are on ground floor level. We would have preferred one of the other lodges if we are honest. Although you can just see a view of the River Dee in the distance.
We had a meal in the Club Bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced.
Several new cafes have opened in Ballater so there is plenty of choice if you fancy lunch out locally.
It is worth a drive to Loch Muick for a lovely walk around the Loch. There was plenty of snow on the ground when we

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We exchanged a week of timeshare to Craigendarroch over Easter and had a lovely time. Reception staff were friendly and helpful as was anyone on site we dealt with.

As it was only a one bedroom we managed to get we stayed the first 4 nights and our daughter and husband and 2 small grandchildren stayed for the last 3. The lodge was all on one level which we liked. Open-plan living room/kitchen, good sized bedroom and a beautifully updated bathroom. A large balcony was off the lounge which would be wonderful in warmer weather. Although the kitchen was not updated it was in excellent condition with lots of storage and fairly new kettle, toaster, coffee maker and microwave. There was a washer dryer in a cupboard in the hall as well as another full sized dryer. Only downside is the storage heaters which are not the easiest to understand. Due to all the reviews re the electricity charges we were loathe to turn them up too high. As it was it cost approx £38 for the week which wasn't too bad. We used the dishwasher lots and the washer/dryer once.

The family used the area where the dry ski slope was for sledging and had a great time in the snow. They also loved the pool. There are lots of great places to eat in Ballater which is approx a mile away. We'd all love to return, hopefully to a larger lodge next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were family of 4 staying in one of the lodges. Those lodges are very nice, it was extremely roomy, especially for 4 of us, and 2 recently renovated bathrooms were a big plus. Beds were comfy, kitchen is complete, and it was clean and well cared for. The heater units (for sure needed in March) were not too bad to figure out either. I do have to say the folks working the desk to the pool and gym area were outright rude. The second thing that I hope someone from management there is reading and fixing, is the check in process. We arrived at 345pm (4pm is check in time) after a full day of flying across the ocean and a drive. We were allowed to fill out the paperwork and get the credit card swiped, and then, at 350, were told to go away for 10 mins and come back at 4 for the key !! Seriously !! So we checked out the pool (very nice) and came back to now find a LINE of 4 people, so its now 415pm before we get the key and go. That certainly is about the stupidest rule and process I've seen.
Views were outstanding, there is a really nice woods hike around the mountain behind the resort, just catch the trail by the top units near the lodge and go. Look for the trail going UP and you find the top and an absolute stunning view of Ballater and the mountains and a rock Cairn and other monument on top. Really nice and not to difficult walk/hike. And yes, the electricity was $94 USD for us after 7 days of a pretty cold March, I didn't think that was overly bad, but if you aren't used to extra charges, just be aware of this coming. The town was nice, the Coop grocery store is well stocked (even with beer), and the butcher shop 100' down from there is excellent, try their game burger, Irn Bru Sausages, and haggis (butter fried, mmmm) to cook back in your own lodge kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have grown up here having a timeshare and look forward to going back each August. From the age of 1-now 21 there is everything to do, rain or shine!
Could not recommend the lodges or the surrounding area enough, I get excite each time i get on that Deeside road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges

Address: Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch is a beautiful resort in Royal Deeside. It boasts 32 newly developed luxury timeshare suites along with it's existing 99 lodges set within the grounds, the Keiller Brasserie and Lounge offering a fantastic range of frshly produced and local menu items, an indoor lagoon pool, LivingWell Health Club and The House Spa. The resort also includes indoor games room and squash court together with outdoor play park and tennis courts providing activities for all the family. The resort is perfectly located for walkers and hikers to take in the beautiful surrounding scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Craigendarroch Hotel Ballater
Hilton Hotel Craigendarroch
Hilton Hotel Ballater
Hilton Ballater
Ballater Hilton
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Craigendarroch Lodges Ballater, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.