We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely parkland course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballater Golf Club

Ballater Golf Club
Victoria Road, Ballater, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Ballater
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1892, this scenic 18-hole golf course offers its toughest challenge on its opening six holes, which include two difficult par threes.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely parkland course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The course and the views are superb. Good catering at the clubhouse. Have never had to wait long to get on the tee in January

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Lovely and Playable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ballater GC is not an easy track, but it is playable and fun while still providing challenge. Other courses in the are may be tougher, but Ballater is fun to play. Nice pro shop and friendly members add to the quality experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I walked the course as my husband played golf. Wonderful setting, nice greens.
Friendly staff in the clubhouse, which is very bright and airy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stunning surroundings and a course which was in excellent condition.
The golf club has an excellent clubhouse and very good restaurant.
Always enjoy our golf at Ballater when in Deeside

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A VERY GOOD GOLF COURSE IN A WONDERFUL LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Ballater area on holiday for almost thirty years now so I think it is fair to say that we like the area. In fact, my whole family like the area so much that my two daughters, who now live in Dubai, came here to get married. Ballater feels as though it is from an earlier time. If you avoid the height of the holiday season, it always feels a little bit quieter with a slower pace of life.

The golf course is one of my favourites anywhere. I am a pretty average golfer with a handicap of 17 and I love playing Ballater with its fabulous scenery and a nice variation in the 18 holes. A low handicap golfer would probably find the course quite easy because it is quite short, but there are some challenging shots to keep you on your toes. The course is very flat so an easy walk for the older golfer.

Good golf club catering for a filled roll before or after your round.

Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballater Golf Club also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Ballater Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballater Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.