We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Lui Hotel

Glen Lui Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Lui Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Lui Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14 Invercauld Road, Ballater AB35 5PP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Ballater B&B and Inns
Rickenbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

very cosy and charming. terrific surrounding, overlooking a golf course. Excellent Restaurant. The rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. The personal is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Glen Lui is an old favourite for our annual trip down Deeside on the bikes. The lodge rooms at the rear of the hotel are large and very comfortable, And the food is excellent. Make sure you have a dinner reservation, and enjoy their excellent presentation.

Room Tip: Go for the lodge rooms situated at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quaint hotel run by lovely people. The atmosphere is very Scottish. Great views from the front of the hotel you feel away from it all but easy walk into the village. We were in the annexe which was basic but cosy, clean and comfortable. Room was of good size as was the bathroom/shower. Free wifi a bonus. Great fresh breakfast cooked to order. Lovely dinner and nice wine list. If I'd change anything it was the background music. Might be better with the radio on quietly at breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel was nice, however rooms quite small. Great food though and the breakfast was very good indeed. At the price I reckon you could get better value elsewhere in the town. My only issue with this nice establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egersund
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are looking for a nice calm place with lovely and friendly staff with high compliance and very good food this is the hotel you must stay in. I was there for one week fishing salmon at Dee without luck (because of river flood). The restaurant is cosy with a nice view to some old trees, a garden and a golf course next to the hotel The rooms are std average as I think many of Scotland hotels are. Absolutely can be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in late March. The weather was dreadful - persistent snow and freezing temperatures - but the warmth of welcome at the hotel more than made up for it. Food was excellent - breakfasts, lunch and dinners! The staff were most efficient and friendly - interested in us, our visit and so on. Bedroom was comfortable - if a little cramped due to the big furniture - and the glass door to the en suite made for some sleeplessness when 1 of us when the other needed to "use the facilities" during the night. All of that said, we will - most certainly be back - but, perhaps, ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Check out how much space you need - if you intend spending a lot of time in your room the one we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We (two couples) stayed here last summer. It was our favorite hotel in Scotland. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. We had dinner there both nights and loved it. Get their sticky toffee pudding. The hotel is in Ballater which is contains castles, small villages, beautiful scenery, a Scotch distillery, and great walks. Just remember there are stairs up to your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Lui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lui Hotel

Address: 14 Invercauld Road, Ballater AB35 5PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Lui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lui Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Lui Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.