We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gordon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gordon Guest House to your Saves list
The Gordon Guest House
Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Autumn/Winter sampler
Ranked #1 of 16 Ballater B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent guest house!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Thank you Martin and Amanda!! We have just enjoyed our fifth stay at your immaculate cosy guest house. As always you both are so very welcoming. Spacious rooms and delicious breakfasts, we both are looking forward to the time as is our friends who come along with us this weekend.
Anne and Duncan Ross.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive review.We are pleased you enjoyed your fifth stay with us again.It is so nice to hear that our high standards of ensuite rooms and general ambience are appreciated by our returning guests.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    39
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
212
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When my wife and I arrived in Ballater we thought it would be a great location to spend the night even though we were ill prepared and hadn't planned to stop over. We came across The Gordon Guest House by chance and enquired at the front door about vacancies and whether they could accommodate our black lab "Sherlock". How lucky we were that they said yes on both accounts. Martin and Amanda were so very welcoming, they couldn't have treated us any better. Having shown us the room we went back to the car to fetch our dog, by the time we got back Martin had placed a dog blanket and a biscuit on the floor for Sherlock. The room was perfect in every way, breakfast was delicious and Marting and Amanda were great hosts. Would definately recommend and stay again. Thank you Martin and Amanda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.We are both pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us.It was so nice to have such a well trained dog in our Guest House especially when he is only 11 months old.Our central location is ideal for walking with waymarked trails virtually on the doorstep.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was so delighted to stay at the Gordon Guest House on a second trip to Scotland this last month.
Greeted at the door by Martin and he even remembered my stay three years ago.
Everything was impeccably presented, from the rooms to the breakfast and the helpful directions to other locations. I was delighted to have my family with me this time and they were equally pleased with our stay there. I will return to Ballater again and stay at The Gordon Guest House for sure!!

Room Tip: Book early and enjoy the town for a day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.We were pleased you returned after staying with us three years ago with your friend and taking your family back this time to enjoy this quiet and beautiful part of Royal Deeside.Our aim is to provide a high level of service and quality at a reasonable cost, your return is indicitive of this.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lynn and Rod from Edinburgh
My wife and I stopped off in Ballater during a break and tour of Northern Scotland and discovered The Gordon Guest House.
The accomodation was excellent, and Martin and Amanda could not have been more helpful, welcoming and informative.
The breakfast and the level of the room was exceptionally good, and we would recommend The Gordon to anyone looking for accomodation in the Ballater area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive review.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Balfluig ensuite room.The breakfast room is large with nice views from the three windows.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having come back from Portugal with the bairn the wife and I wanted one night away from Aberdeen but still someone where close to Aberdeen.

Ballater sounded great and it was just our luck that it started to snow when we arrived and continued over night. I'm glad to say it didn't spoil our stay.

We stayed in the Darroch room which was lovely and lots of space. We sat down on the couch and watched the snow fall down on the mountain outside our room. It looked even better when we saw it in the morning. Not so good with the snow on top of our car!

Martin and Amanda treated us to a fantastic breakfast. We certainly could not of managed the cereal the offered on top of the full scottish breakfast. If your coming to scotland I recomend the Haggis pudding.

A great time despite the weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.The Darroch ensuite room is named after the hill you could see from window and the view was greatly enhanced with the early snow.We are pleased you enjoyed your short break and liked your filling breakfast.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this centrally located guest house, in spite of the early snow in October! However, it just made the view from our windows all the prettier. Our room (the Balmoral) was spacious, provided everything we needed and the bed was super king size and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. Many thanks Amanda and Martin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive review.We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay.The Balmoral ensuite room normally affords great views from both windows but with the snow on Lochnager and nearby Darroch Hill enhanced your vista.We take great care with breakfast both with choice and presentation and any dietary requirements guests may have. Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed only for one night but we really felt like being at home. The room and bathroom were big, beautiful decorated and very clean. We also had a great breakfast in the morning. We had an enjoyable stay and would book this location again! Thank you for the excellent service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are both pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the level of service and breakfast surpassed your expectations.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Address: Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gordon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.