We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mangiatoia

La Mangiatoia
Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
01339755999
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Ballater
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open evenings only from 5pm.Closed Mondays.La Mangiatoia has been established in Ballater since 1999.The restaurant is situated in a quiet courtyard location just off the main street.We have a lovely patio area where you can enjoy pizzas in the summer and inside there is a large wood burning stove for winter dining.The menus feature a mix of traditional and modern Italian cooking and our homemade pizzas are a particularly popular.We are open all year round except mid Nov-27th December when we are closed for our annual holiday.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wise to make reservations. Menu has good variety, food is always nicely served, staff is friendly and efficient, establishment clean and atmosphere is good. Recommend to everybody. A great place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    76
    36
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited this place on a number of occasions as we have stayed at the lodges in the area for many years. We were there 3yrs ago when the service was slow and the food poor.
We decided to give it another chance as they may have had an off day.
The quality of food had improved but the service was appalling, the restaurant was only have full and people were getting turned away at 8pm when there was plenty of tables empty and no one else came in after us.
We ordered four main courses of lasagne and were told no none left seemed a little strange as this is basic Italian food and it was only 8pm.
It does not open for lunch and it was not that busy so who ate all the lasagne.
We chose something else and asked for some olives and was told she would see what she would do as they were really busy.

We also ordered a very overpriced bottle of wine, and were told the kitchen was a little backed up
We waited an hour at 9pm half our our food arrived at 9.06 the other half came.
The wine was poor and the food average, the sauce for the stroganoff was plain without a kick.
We were offered a drink for the long wait.
The food and drinks at 81 pounds for main course and coffee with wine was well overpriced.
It is not acceptable to wait for an hour in a half empty restaurant,
We are normally generous tippers but not on this occasion one waitress was trying hard the other was so surly with customers it was clear she did not want to be there.
That was our last time giving it another chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked this on the Friday 20/0614 - it was for myself and my partner and we stayed in Ballater for that weekend. We fancied something different to Scottish fayre so thought we'd give it a try and we were not disappointed!

The restaurant is cosy, warm and inviting. Busy too!! Menu is limited with only pizzas, pastas and salads but there are specials on with meat dishes. We were told by our lovely waitress Anna that the place had recently changed hands and the owner/chef had reduced the menu which some of the regulars were disappointed with. We actually didn't mind as most Italians don't serve steaks etc so we didn't feel like we were missing out! The starters were amazing and huge portions and we had a pizza each, again delicious and everything was made with fresh ingredients. The desserts were a little disappointing as were not homemade which we should have asked about before ordering but the coffee was lovely!

Anna was a great host and so pleasant even though her and the other waitress were clearly ran off their feet! We chatted with her after our meal and she was so warm and welcoming. Lovely person. Would definitely recommend this place and we will be back!!

Thanks for a wonderful evening :-)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal with a cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spotted whilst strolling around Ballater, we took a table for two and were surprised by the number of people that came in after us and were turned away. The demand was high!
The food was served quickly and tasted lovely: wine was the usual £20 a bottle and fine. Pace was good and, although busy, we were not rushed to vacate the table.
We enjoyed our visit so much, we went back later in the week - where it was equally as busy!
It was a thoroughly delightful place to find.
Next time in Ballater, we'll return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We nearly didn't get a table on a Wednesday evening and when our food arrived we could see why it was so popular. Obviously freshly made and very tasty. If you want to try it, best to arrive very early or book!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mangiatoia also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to La Mangiatoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mangiatoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.