We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly local italian with good choice for carnivores” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Mangiatoia

La Mangiatoia
Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
01339755999
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open evenings only from 5pm.Closed Mondays.La Mangiatoia has been established in Ballater since 1999.The restaurant is situated in a quiet courtyard location just off the main street.We have a lovely patio area where you can enjoy pizzas in the summer and inside there is a large wood burning stove for winter dining.The menus feature a mix of traditional and modern Italian cooking and our homemade pizzas are a particularly popular.We are open all year round except mid Nov-27th December when we are closed for our annual holiday.
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“friendly local italian with good choice for carnivores”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

excellent atmospheric little Italian just at the end of the village of Ballater, prices very reasonable, excellent choice of fish and meat and my friend thought it was excellent, the only reason I have rated it as average is because I am vegetarian and the choices were pretty standard I had a dish which suggested they had a home made sauce when actually it was just pasta in pesto and was a little oily. However my friend had chicken and chorizo on a skewer with wonderful sautéed potatoes and fresh veg. If you're in the area and fancy an Italian, definitely go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed dining with us.We are sorry you found your pesto too oily.Our pesto is freshly made in house and this will be flagged up to the chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    70
    35
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well it was fast at least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stopped overnight in Ballater for a change to our usual routes through the highlands and ate at the local Italian unfortunately. We were greeted at the door and said we didnt have a reservation but we were seated. Having spent a day hiking we were hungry but our starter arrived about 5 minutes after ordering which doesnt make you feel too confident in the quality, then the main was another five minutes after that. By this point we have been there just over 20 minutes! Pizza was fine but very small, BBQ chicken didnt feel very Italian and the sausages were distincly average but fine. We were then presented with the dessert menu and when we declined the bill arrived very shortly after. When the waitress came for the card I pointed out we were not ready for the bill as we had drinks to finish and would have actually had a coffee. Five mins later the manager came over to ask how we were paying so we repeated that we hadnt actually asked for the bill yet and were not ready and he informed us he needed the table. Now we eat out a lot and I have never been seated anywhere that you need to be in and out in 45 minutes, especially not without being informed of there being a time limit. Other couples were being processed in similar high speed fashion so it wasn't just us but we felt rushed and unwelcome. Honest opinion the food was average take out quality, one waitress was a definite saving grace and very nice but the manager ridicuously rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. There isnt much choice in the town but I would never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy by your visit to the restaurant.However at no time was anyone rude or unhelpful to you.Your companion stated she was allergic to peppers when discussing starters options with the staff.We pointed out her main course choice had peppers in it-she said that was ok ?? The one starter you ordered was fried calamari -that by defination benefits from fast cooking so that`s why it arrived after 5 minutes...The pizzas are 9-10 inch diameter and feedback from the majority or customers is that they are a good size for most appetites.
No one rushed you or any other customers out of the restaurant.When the waitress asked if you would like dessert you said you did not want anything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Try the chickpea salad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I came here on Halloween, without a reservation, and we were warmly greeted. Like a couple of other reservations, it's really hard to believe we are talking about the same place! The food was delicious (slightly disappointed only by dessert) - I had the chickpea and chorizo salad, which was delicious. Very happy that Harry told me how to make it when I complimented him on it! Tasty and good value wine. The pizza my husband ordered was delicious! I would definitely come back here if I return to Ballater, but I would certainly reserve next time as about an hour after we came it was packed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review.We are delighted you enjoyed your meal-the Cece E Chorizo has been on our menu for the last 8 years! Definately one of our bestsellers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Harry's really very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visited early on Sunday evening and received a very warm welcome from the owner. Harry was very accommodating with regard to a member of our party who is wheat intolerant,suggesting various menu options. Even the chef came out to suggest options. Steak and veal meals cooked to perfection and our pasta dishes were delicious. The restaurant was quiet, only 2 other tables occupied but it was early on a Sunday so probably not the busiest time anyway. All in all very enjoyable evening and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.We always do our best to accommodate any food allergies.We are delighted you enjoyed dining at La Mangiatoia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very very good menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Its hard to believe some of these reviewers have actually visited the same restaurant as we did. This is one of the best italien menus I have seen in the UK and we struggled to choose both times we during our 4 night stay. Everything we had was lovely and for 3 courses with drinks (several) for just over £50 for two its great value for money as well. As for the comments about the staff I think they were making it up. Go if you are in Ballater,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your super review.We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mangiatoia also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to La Mangiatoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mangiatoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.