We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food served with heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
43 Bridge Street, Ballater AB35 5QD, Scotland
013397 55191
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Westlake Village, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food served with heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Bothy is a cute little restaurant with good fresh food, good service and a friendly staff, a great place to have soup, salad or a sandwich when you are on holiday. We saw several locals eating there. The Bothy also has a person named Colin who took extra time and care to help a fellow traveller who spilled soup all over herself. He took time to help clean out her purse which caught most of the spill and made sure she got a replacement for her soup. A bad experience turned into a day not ruined. It was so nice to find a restaurant that had heart and is a example of the friendliness of the people of Scotland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burghead
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch in The Bothy on Aug 26th, the way the counter service system is set up works very well. Staff polite and food was lovely which we didn't have to wait long for. Was good to see the cooks out with the food if the waitresses were busy. The scones looked amazing although I never had one but if im back in the area must try one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good basic menu not too expensive,
Busy surroundings, lots of locals which badges well for this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“lovely coffee and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

enjoyed an iced coffee and an ice cream with lemon cake here as it was a very hot day, lovely flavours I really enjoyed my visit will come again for sure, nice pleasant girls serving here, it's a lovely place to visit in Ballater after an enjoyable walk by the river and a visit to the Railway and shops before returning to my coach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To Die for Cakes....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The perfect end to a great day out walking around Loch Muick. We (Huntly Area Cancer Support Centre) have an annual fund-raising sponsored walk and this is our third year at Loch Muick. Last year we were unable to find seats in The Bothy as it's so popular but this year we were lucky and had the most fabulous de-brief whilst tucking into scones with jam and cream, giant slabs of bakewell tart and mouth-watering macaroons, all washed down with piping hot tea and, my personal favourite, creamy hot chocolate! I'm not waiting a year to visit again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bothy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.