We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel

Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Wilden Road | Colmworth, Bedford MK44 2NJ, England
01234 378990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 316 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: European, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We chose Cornfields [after reading Trip Advisor] because we wanted somewhere to stay that had a good reputation for food and we weren't disappointed. As well as an a la carte menu there is also a midweek menu which is excellent value, with generous portions. The staff were friendly and attentive. Although primarily a restaurant they have not stinted on the bedrooms. Our bedroom over looking the cornfields and garden was delightful, spacious and beautifully decorated to a high standard. We, and our Westie, spent 3 very comfortable nights there. Definitely a place we wouldbe happy to revisit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cornfields Evening Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The food is good but they were extremely mean with the food.
Although the portions are small which is the case with fine dining, they charge top whack but skimp on the more expensive ingredients.
Also got ripped of with coffee by the fire after dinner. Coffee for four cost £20 because they gave us some hand made chocolates which we didn't ask for. I

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Food was okay, staff were excellent but for me personally the restuarant lacked atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

small intimate restaurant - pricey but very good food and service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Overall versus a fine dining restaurant this may not be that polished - however, people often forget how much they are willing to pay for hideously poor, monotonous frozen food in chain restaurants especially in London, so based on value alone, this is a great place to eat.

Downsides: wine menu slightly limited and a bit pricey, menu is not adventurous, main dining room isn't as pleasant as the bar area, 3 small roast potatoes with main course was very stingy, veal was not true "veal" as you'd get on the continent

Upsides: far outweigh the downsides - bar area is gorgeous room with lovely open fire, location is so peaceful, service is very polite and friendly, guests are staggered into dining room to allow for very attentive 1-1 service, quality of food was very good, vegetables with main were fantastic in taste and texture, desserts were outstanding, wine choice (lussac st emilion) was a lovely silky smooth & fruity wine

Overall a very pleasant experience, good value (£100 excl service for 3 adults for 3 courses including great wine and aperitifs) and would definitely go back and recommend to others.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.