We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service food ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant

Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant
36, St Peters Street, Bedford MK40 2NN, England
(01234) 353470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 316 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good service food ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant was very clean and nicely decorated. Service was excellent and the food was reasonable. Portions were a bit too big for my liking and would have been nice to have had some side salad with smaller pasta potion rather than a massive piece of lasagne on it's own, but tasted good. Nice restaurant and would possibly visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High standards always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I live in cyprus but when I visit Bedford I always try to get to Bruno's.

It's famous to the people of Bedford and as Italian food goes its top draw, as a chef and restaurant owner I can safely say a lot has been learnt by the standard of pride and cleanliness of this place. The atmosphere is superb and food always fresh, Bruno is an asset to this business and its the perfect example of a top family restaurant business

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Calm and collective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, great decor. Food was of a good standard, everywhere was clean and the service was fast and efficient.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
*Kyle
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A good value Italian restaurant in Bedford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The service and welcome were good, and the atmosphere was also good. There was a good selection of food offered, and the quality was good. The wine list was extensive, and the prices not too exorbitant. The prices overall were very reasonable for the quality of the food provided and the service offered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok but seems to have slipped a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Must say I was disappointed with the meal I had here. The starter was nice but my main course, which was pizza, had so much cheese on it I had to scrape it off. The base was thin but was rather soggy in the middle. I also found the service slow between our starters and main course. I am not vegetarian but don't tend to eat meat in meals when I go out but it took a long time to choose what I wanted as the meals suitable for vegetarians are not labelled as such on the menu. I appreciate lots of Italian food contains meat but not all the dishes had meat in them and it would've helped to identify the ones that didn't. Overall, I left feeling disappointed with the whole experience although had not experienced this on previous visits.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammaMia1000, Manager at Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam I sincerely apologise that your current experience at our establishment wasn't at its usual high standard.
I have a couple if questions, if you would be so kind to call the establishment regarding this occasion.
Was the issue brought to the attention of any of my staff, regarding the pizza.Which pizza did you order. Also you stated the time delay between starters and main courses.

If you would be so kind to contact me ASAP so I can do some investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.