We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian cuisine, but a little rich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant

Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant
36, St Peters Street, Bedford MK40 2NN, England
(01234) 353470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 319 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Italian cuisine, but a little rich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have come here a good handful of times, usually chosen by friends for a birthday dinner or just because it's a Saturday!
The food is impressive and the menu extensive. Bruno is definitely doing something right, the restaurant is always full.
The portions are large (which is always a good thing) but the only slight gripe is that the sauces tend to be quite rich - especially the Carbonara.

The last thing to note - I like that in the toilets they play Italian phrases to learn. A nice touch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY LOVELY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

LOVE this place! Love coming here with my boyfriend. First came as Valentines day and now go quite regularly. Lovely atmosphere, Food is cheap compared to the lovely ingredients and food that is on offer.
Lovely wine and coffee selection.
Service is ALWAYS of a very high standard.
Thank you!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Pizza and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a table for 20 and were asked to pre-order which was initially a bit disappoint, but given the size of the party we understood their position and confirmed the booking by leaving a small deposit.

The 20 pizzas arrived all once which meant we were all able to eat together.
Genuine wood oven Italian pizza served with a smile, and the Sanbuca tiramisu are all highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian Restaurant in Town Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

With a plethora of Italian restaurants in Bedford, Mamma Mia's certainly stands out as one of the best - I have been several times since I was a child and now I am taking my kids - whilst we visit irregularly we have never been disappointed with the food, service or hospitality.
We have enjoyed birthday celebrations, an office Christmas party and taken advantage of their great lunchtime offers - parking is conveniently across the road and good access to the town centre, looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, lovely atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Haven't been in a long time but a friend recommended it as somewhere to return to and we werent disappointed. Mamma Mia's has been in Bedford for years and is truely a lovely restaurant. Went with family and from the moment we walked in we were greated with friendly attentive staff. My son had just turned 10 and they made a fuss of him without making him feel like a child, important to a newly 10 year old!

The menu is vast and we all tried different dishes and no one was disappointed with clean plates all round on each course. My son chose the meatballs which i tried and they were amazing full of flavour and a lovely texture.

We felt that the staff were all attentive without being intrusive and you only needed to look up and someone was there ready to refill drinks. Our plates were cleared quickly once we had finished which my husband loved as he hates sitting at a table with dirty plates in front of him!

The prices are reasonable and the portion sizes are huge so you feel you are getting good value.

All in all we had a lovely evening and will definately be returning to try the many different dishes on offer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.