We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best chippy in Bedord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop

Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop
34 Denmark Street, Bedford MK40 3TQ, England
01234 350 282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 316 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still the best chippy in Bedord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely fish n chips. Crispy not soggy chips - what's not to like!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant with a huge choice. My only criticism is that it's quite expensive, but a large cod is actually large, and large chips serves too! So it works out in the end :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, BEAUTIFULLY COOKED FISH & CHIPS AND AMAZING CHOICE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I visited this shop yesterday and the food was wonderful. I noticed they cooked everything fresh with no old pieces of cod left to stay warm. Another thing that made this shop special was both the shop and equipment were spotlessly clean - take a careful look at the surroundings next time you visit your local chippy and then compare it to this shop. I'd bet on Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop being the cleanest you'll ever find. I ordered cod and chips for me and tuna steak with salad for my partner. The choice of fish is vast - from the usual cod and chips to the more 'exotic' Red Snapper, Red Mullet and Shark Steak. I had reservations ordering a salad from a fish and chip shop, but my partner was pleasantly surprised when we arrived home and she opened the container to find the lettuce, cucumber, etc was all still fresh and crisp. Also, the chips were not 'scraps' like most chip shops try and slip into the meal but were large and crisp on the outside and soft in the middle - just how I love them. Special thanks to the guy who served me, (Sean I think he said his name was), because, even though we arrived a little before they were due to open, he opened the door and welcomed us in.
This shop would be my first choice for fish and chips.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good solid Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My favourite Fish and Chip shop in Bedford. Orders cooked fresh. Telephone orders accepted. Good choice. Perhaps not quite as good as it used to be but still very good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Superb Freshly Cooked Fish but Chips could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The one concern here was that the chips were overcooked. Everything else was superb including the freshly fried fish and other products, the cleanliness, the service and the prices. Will definately visit again but will watch the chips!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denmark Street Fish & Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.