We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better places...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Beijing

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef Beijing
52 - 54 Castle Lane, Bedford MK40 3NU, England
01234 273 883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 319 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Bedford
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“One of the better places...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant on a few occasions, I am always delighted with the food. And one of the few places that cooks its rice properly. Try I Thai curry, always good with fresh ingredients. They also do a delivery service which we have also tried.... Give it a go....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    5
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although small premises I have used this place regularly for take away as its walking distance from home. Always a varied order from the family and it is without doubt the best take away in Bedford

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not the most exquisite restaurant but excellent food and have never had a bad meal. Tucked away on a quiet little back street, you may have trouble finding it, but persevere and I'm sure you will have a great meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were late for lunch and just could not find a parking space anywhere near. Eventually, we did, but arrived at Chef Beijing five minutes after their declared closing time. The owner/manager explained that not only were they officially closed, but the chef had gone home. Nevertheless, he called the chef on his mobile, the chef returned, and the two of us were given VIP treatment and a delicious Thai meal. (Yes, it's not just Chinese, but Thai as well.) Service such as that is remarkable, admirable, exceptional and deserves every accolade. Do not expect such treatment every time that you go there (!), but it does demonstrate the dedication of those who run this little, out-of-the-way, unpretentious restaurant. One of us is Thai, and the meal that we were given was authentic. We cannot comment on the Chinese food, but it would be surprising if that was not equally good..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Mouth watering food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The food wonderful but the atmosphere could use some work, phone is always ringing and can be cold but owners are always friendly. Also on the pricey side. The restaurants central so near some nice pubs.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Beijing also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Chef Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.