We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Helena

St Helena
High Street, | Elstow, Bedford MK42 9XP, England
+44 1234 344848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 319 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $68 - $68
Cuisines: English, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ideal For romantic dinner,Special Occasions,Bussiness lunches or just a Night out. £45 is for a 5 course fine dining dinner menu
Luton
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We ate here on Saturday night with some friends - for on of them, it was actually the first time they had been. The menu is extensive with specials as well to chose from. All the food was lovely and well presented and they were happy to cook my fish stew without peppers but the desserts were even better. It was a shame they didn't do a mini selection of them all as they all sounded great and it was very difficult to decided.
Will definitely go back for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    43
    23
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dissapointing & Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

When paying a premium for everything, you expect some "added value" to justify the price which I felt this restaurant failed to deliver. We were taken by a relative who was really excited to be taking us there, but by the end of the evening we felt ripped off and our host embarrassed.

Firstly, price. We were recommended the steaks - so all 5 of us had steaks. Not bad, but ours varied from medium rare to medium well - and they all arrived the same! The size was about the that of a McDonalds Hamburger - plus there was a surcharge for the steak - miniscule as it was. The Veg was a joke - about 6 juliennes of various veg tied together - not even a mouthful. When I was presented with a bowl of Gratin Potatoes my spirits lifted somewhat - only to have them dashed when I discovered the bowl was for all 5 of us!

Drinks - a bottle of Peroni £5??? come on! how do you add value to a bottle of beer to justify this? Another annoying habit was for the staff to grab your glass as soon as you'd taken the last mouthful and were about to put it back on the table. Very annoying.

All in all I've had far better for a lot less, and I find it hard to recommend this place unless you like paying over the odds for small, indifferent food. With what I paid per head here I could have enjoyed a much bigger, better steak with a sensible sized portion on the plate at my local and gone back 6 times compared to this place.

Just because its expensive doesn't necessarily mean its better - I look at what I get in the plate and what it tastes like then base my opinion and reviews on this. I don't look at the price and think because its expensive it must be good and kid myself its "fine dining"

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

a little bit of class at a good price and excellent food and service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We dined at St Helena restaurant for with friends. Excellent set price menu with a few supplements for lobster and the like. Not a cheap place, but the quality and service showed where the higher cost lay.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I recently went to St Helena for a group lunch and can honestly say that this is some of the best food I've tasted. We were a group of ten and were sat in the convservatory which was a lovely experience. The restaurant was very busy, but the service and ambiance was first class.

I would highly recommend this restaurant, especially for a birthday or special occasion, but equally as a special treat for lunch.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Helena also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.