We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine - Restaurant less so.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina to your Saves list
Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina
Priory Country Park - Barker's Lane, Bedford MK41 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine - Restaurant less so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is excellent, with the marina on the doorstep and pleasant walks available. The room we had was comfortable and clean. Food is served next door in the Beefeater as is usual with this chain. The food here was dependant on who was cooking it. Variable quality, but acceptable nonetheless. It was as if they felt the location alone would sell the place and so they didn't need to try too hard. The staff were all very helpful and efficient.
I wouldn't rush back here, but would not rule it out if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have a weekly meeting with the manager of our adjoining restaurant so will be sure to pass on your comments. I have also shared your feedback with our hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
77
82
19
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here mid september and found it to be a pleasant and comfortable base. You don't expect luxury at a premier inn, but it was still a good hotel all the same and in a very good location with plenty of parking.
We had breakfast on both mornings of our stay at the beefeater next door and didn't have to wait long for our hot breakfast to arrive. It arrived within about 10 minutes, hot and tasty.
We also ate in the beefeater both evenings of our stay which again was pleasant and very good service. There were many restaurants around should you wish to travel but we chose to stay on location for the convenience.
We went on a day trip to Woburn safari park which was only around 15miles away and an easy drive. We also walked along the river from the hotel into Bedford which took 40 minutes or so, along with a later stroll around the lake in the country park next to the hotel.
A very nice location with plenty of parking and friendly staff who offered advice when asked.. We visit this area a lot and will be planning to stay again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. We are so lucky with our tranquil location, yet close proximity to many attractions! Our team works so hard and I will be sure to pass on your fantastic comments!

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were here as a close location for a wedding reception. We were pleased with our choice as it is next a lovely marina and lake.
Very clean, bright room - in fact it was immaculate. Bed really comfortable. Wonderful location and friendly staff, all for £35! Result! Best one night stay we've had for a long time if we happen to be in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to rebook.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Honesty21

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here in July during one of the hottest weeks of year, it was 30+ when I arrived and very close.
Very friendly check in, and due to the weather I was offered a sheet to replace the duvet, which was very considerate.
Unfortunately my room had 2 tiny and very high windows that allowed no cool air to enter the room, not to mention no view.
This was easily one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in because of this, nothing to do with cleanliness or facilities, they were of the usual premier inn standard, having little natural light and no view is terrible.
Fortunately I went out for a meal with a customer so my stay in the room was confined to only sleeping in it, none the less I hardly slept due to the heat.
Another disappointment was the attached restaurant and bar being closed and unable to get a night cap at just after 11pm.
The following morning I was offered a refund using the "goodnight guarantee".
Probably a nice hotel if you get the right room, but I think they should consider making the room I had, a storage room or extra office space, it is not really suitable for any guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear eddie8105

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

I`m sorry you didn`t enjoy your stay with us this time.
Due to the lack of natural light and location of this room, it is only used when the rest of the hotel is fully booked.
I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the Premier Inn team and also the Restaurant Management.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future in one of our other bedrooms.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to celebrate my inlaws 50th wedding anniversary, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were fine and we had a lovely evening meal at the beefeater next door, the service was great and the food delicious, we had breakfast there as well but had to wait along time for the cooked breakfast to arrive but they had plenty of cereals and croissants etc to have while we were waiting. We had a nice walk around the country park next door, would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear EgyptianNadine

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arrived at 11pm as previously booked hotel was over booked. A room quickly found for me. Room fine and bed comfortable. The stay lived up the Premier Inn's advertised standards. Plenty of parking. Handy for Athletics Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear RJ57

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

You know what to expect at this type of hotel in terms of accommodation.

The staff were really friendly.

The location is really nice next to the lake. It helps that the weather was really nice when we were there and we could sit outside the Beefeater with a beer.

The beefeater next door suprisingly was really good. I was expecting dire, like all the other times I have eaten at these types of restaurant but I would happily go back to that one.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team and to the Beefeater Restaurant Manager

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina

Address: Priory Country Park - Barker's Lane, Bedford MK41 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.