We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embankment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Embankment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embankment Hotel
The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Bedford
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from the Embankment Hotel in Bedford.
Great setting,good food,real ales,helpful staff and a lovely room. ( #103)
What more could you ask for.
We will be returning to this hotel.
Parking can be a problem...

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem as can noise from the outside area to the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    23
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
78
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Good points were room was clean and stylish and the food was good. The staff, especially the manager, were very friendly and helpful. But our overall experience was spoiled by the fact that the noise level was unacceptable. We know it was a Saturday night and the venue is very popular and also had a hen party event there, but we had paid a premium for a river view room which meant our room was at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, this also meant that even after the partygoers had left the venue, the road was still very busy throughout the night with both traffic and other people on an evening out. Also, the staff were chatting very loudly when cleaning up outside until after 1am, and then the outside area was being prepared for a new day from 7am. We tried closing the windows but the room was too hot. The hotel did apologise and give us a discount on the room when we mentioned this when checking out, but we were shattered as had hardly slept and would have rather paid the full price to get a decent nights sleep. So if you are a partygoer then I'm sure this hotel will be right up your street!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We needed to stay one night in Bedford to attend a wedding. Other hotels cost more than this one, but I booked it anyway and wasn't expecting too much. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff were helpful and looked after our luggage until the room was ready, even gave us a personal phone number in case we arrrived late from our wedding and had any problems.
Bedroom was clean and the hotel is right across from the river, so in a very nice position. We expected noise as it is a pub downstairs as well as a hotel..............but we had no complaints at all. I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel very comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice position on the River Ouse. If you get a back room its a bit noisy from the extractor unit. Parking not very good. If you park on the local roads there are meters from 8am to 6pm and you can only park for 2 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was clean and stylish and a fan was provided because the weather was so hot. The best part of the hotel was the manager who helped us when we locked ourselves out the room in the middle of the night. We took our dog with us as they are a pet friendly hotel and they did everything they could to accommodate us.

Room Tip: Our room wasn't that big but it was very nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed overnight for the Twinwood Festival. Booked in early and was given the key. Came back after a wet but great day at the festival after seeing The Red Stripe band and got straight into the restaurant for dinner at 9:45pm. After a super meal we finished the evening with a cognac and malt sitting on the lounge settee.
Room at the top was pretty good apart from noisy staff smoking outside late night and early morning.
Breakfast great value and quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the location of this charming old-fashioned hotel by the river, and the rooms were very cozy and had nice details with character. Our room was otherwise OK, but there was a lot of noise during the night coming from the plumbing I guess which made disturbed sleeping. There was also a party going on until very late in the pub downstairs with lots of noise.The staff was very friendly. Breakfast wasn't anything too special, and it was confusing to have a modest cold buffet, toasts to be self-warmed around the corner and then having to order warm dishes separately from a menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bedford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embankment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.