We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dragon Restaurant
River Street | Unit E, Bedford MK40 1PX, England
01234 328866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 315 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still as bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

By the way the Photo is not that of the restaurant in question (witch is a Chinese buffet style restaurant).
The food is just the same slops, the salad bar and fruit bar are a complete joke and not of the funny kind (they do cover themselves by a notice saying seasonal ?) followed closely by the sweet/cake section that have biscuits that look as though they came from a £1 shop and slices of cake cut so small you could pick up a slice with a fish knife and still see the blade, or you could opt for the strawberry jelly on its own. The staff are like flies as soon as you look as if you have finished BANG there in-front of you. My recommendation if passing by just keep going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    8
    4
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch with my partner having not been for almost two years. The food was just as excellent as we have always found it in the past.
A good choice of about 20 starters and 20 mains and a large choice of desserts.
The only issue here is the price, daytimes I think are fair but the evenings are now very expensive and for not much extra choice. The more recent hygiene score of a 5 was most reassuring although they have always had the same high standards in my opinion.
The best in Bedford but visit in the daytime!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
“LOVE the food, service is good, prices a little high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My children, partner and I LOVE coming to Dragons. The food is fresh and there is always plenty of choice. The staff are usually helpful and for lunch, it is reasonably priced. However, in the evenings it is extremely expensive, especially for children. Mine do not eat much and to have to pay adult prices for children over 8 years is a bit OTT if you ask me, and is why we won't be visiting for a while!!! I love the chicken satay, the duck pancakes, chicken balls and most of the menu. The choice is fabulous and the venue is great, my kids love the lanterns and the music. The drinks are quite expensive and the lemonade and cola isn't the greatest quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
“lunchtime ok evening extorsionate!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

have visited here for lunch on many occasions but of late the food is getting more colder everytime.the waiting staff hover nearby so as soon as you put your plate down its gone which is slightly annoying.food itself is ok and the restaurant quite nice but needs to be less like a canteen and a little more like a chinese restaurant please.Evenings are so pricey.not bad in all but could improve significantly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've eaten here many times, I can't say I've ever had a problem with the food, there is a wide variety and it's prices are good. what has put me off a little is the food hygiene certificate they have on the door, they got a one!
The staff are rude, slow and just have no manners..

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Restaurant also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.