We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Bombay

New Bombay
53b Harpur Street, Bedford, England
+44 1234 218218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 315 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Balti, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was not our first visit. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Food excellent and reasonably priced. Was busy when we arrived without a booking but room was made available and no waiting. A very good experience of authentic Indian food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wootton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just to report that having sampled other local restaurants this is still the best by a long way. Food is delicious, service is friendly and welcoming and the extension to the front of the restaurant enhances the warm atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long sutton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spice delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As very discerning curry lovers. We googled restaurants in Bedford. This came top and we know why. The prawn special was a delight with the freshest ingredients. Then we had a chicken chilli mossalla dish that was mouthwatering. To top it all the staff were so nice. This is my first ever review as I not a nerd just really impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One of the better curry houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been to the New Bombay a few times since it has been refurbished for office lunches and dinners. The brothers who are the owner managers are always polite and service is good. The food here is well above average and the prices are very good. Would certainly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“all round good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

just 3 of us for a meal. good efficient but discrete service. rather large portions, very tender meats & chicken, not over-cooked. £55 including drinks for main meals & popadums.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bombay also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to New Bombay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Bombay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.