We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food again, but service was disappointing this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reem

Reem
High Street, Bedford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 316 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
bedford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice food again, but service was disappointing this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have now been to Reem a couple of times and it is certainly different from anything else in Bedford. The food has been consistent good, both tasty and fresh cooked. There is heavy emphasis on meat but I assume that is the style of the cuisine of the country. My disappointment on the latest visit was with the service. On my arrival the 'wecome' was frosty to say the least and, having been shown to a table we waited at least 10 minutes for anyone to come to take a drinks order.
The rest of the evening passed with indifferent service, some of the time by a waiter who smelt of BO. Couple this with the fact that the restaurant was cold it was overall a bit of a disappointment this time around. I will go again because the food is a really nice change from the norm but I hope that the service is a bit more warm and friendly. If not I may tire of it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“More interesting than the average Bedford food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Eat at Reem for light Sunday lunch whilst shopping. Had classics of Tabbouleh , Falafel & Mixed Grill. very tasty, with a distinctive taste.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford, uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Been to reem quite a few times over past couple of years. Food and service consistently good. Love hummus beiruty, tabouleh, lamb meshwi, i could go on! Mint tea and baklava also really good. What i most like about the food is that it is really fresh tasting and definitely all homemade. My fear is that it suffers from its location and looks like your average kebab shop from outside. Give it a go, you wont be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great family-run restaurant wasted on grotty Bedford High Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Have picked up takeaway before and always enjoyed, but decided to eat in now the restaurant area is more presentable than previously. Had a really good lunch yesterday. Excellent fresh squeezed juices: orange, carrot, apple as you would expect from a lebanese establishment, but my Avocado Juice with Honey & Pistachio was really good. Food started with Hummus Beiruty and Moutabbal with hot flat breads to start, all freshly made, plentiful and tastefully presented. Just chose Lahm Meshwi and Shawerma Sandwiches to follow, but really well prepared and excellent flavour. Around us were plenty of lunchtime diners tucking into a variety of grilled meat trays and dishes, all of which looked and smelled delicious. Finished with an excellent cardamom infused lebanese coffee. Friendly staff, genuine and open owners. A real gem. Use it or lose it Bedford!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Average Food, Not All that Comfortable and Over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Shame really. Lebanese food is delicious when it is done properly. Too much emphasis on the rotating meats heated by the electric elements. Long and narrow place that is not all that comfortable. The real shocker, though, was the high prices for not much at all. Could do much better!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reem also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Reem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.