We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty authentic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
118 - 120 Bedford Road | Kempston, Bedford MK42 8BG, England
01234 843210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 320 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty authentic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The food here is delicious, I thought my duck starter was my main as there was so much on my plate. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Definitely visiting again. Ladies the toilet decor is absolutely amazing. Overall this restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. Love what they have done with the lighting in the walls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    12
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great Thai experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The decor is fantastic, the service friendly and the food is great. I felt that we really got value for money and had an amazing night. It is also nice that it is only across the street from Kempston park, as it was nice to have a stroll afterwards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Despite this being on my doorstep i had yet to sample it's cuisine. I was delighted to find nice, modern surroundings and excellent attentive service. I was served by Anne who was more than happy to have a conversation about the delights of her home country, Thailand.
She advised what dishes would be suitable and it was served quickly and authentically like it is served in the far east, in straw container things (i hope that makes sense).
The food was delicious and all the ingredients were fresh. There are slightly cheaper choices in Bedford, but not by enough to worth worrying about.
I'll be back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having seen reviews and reports re how good this Restaurant is we just had to try it. First impressions were good, and looking at the food on adjacent tables I was really looking forward to trying it.
I'm sorry to say that the food was very average compared to other Restaurants and the service left a lot to be desired. I don't like to be rushed between courses but we were left for a long time and not even asked if we would like another drink. Eventually we were given hot plates for the main course but again had to wait such a long time the plates went cold and had to be replaced.
The Restaurant itself lacks any atmosphere or ambience and is more like a canteen than a Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have had a takeaway from here and have eaten in a few times. The food is always excellent! There are not many places in Bedford which serve Thai food, especially with the option of Chinese food too.

The good is possibly a little more expensive that other Chinese/Thai restaurants in the Bedford area, but it is well worth the extra pennies!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.