We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for a change..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse & Jockey

The Horse & Jockey
Church End | Ravensden, Bedford, England
+44 1234 772319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 340 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Just for a change..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant is only a few miles outside Bedford in the village of Ravensden. I found the menu a little pretentious for what is after all, a pub. The decor in the restaurant is modern and restful given that this is an old rural pub building. The staff were very friendly and the service excellent. The food was well presented but I felt everything was not quite hot enough, even the coffee, except for the 4 chunky chips which were too hot to eat. The steak melted in my mouth and was definitely one of the best I have had for a long while. The prices were good for the food on offer. Would use again, but not regularly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well I am hooked on this place, my husband and myself love it , great staff efficient and wow the food is soo good, we brought a few of our friends last Friday as they popped by on their way to the Cotswolds and they eat in the most fab places all over the country ( Rules London, sharrow bay Lake District etc) well they were so impressed they are going to come back stay for the weekend and have asked to go back to this lovely restaurant on their first night .

Well done Sarah,Darren and all the team

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent food and friendly professional service.

Well presented dishes with good portion sizes. After three courses I was pleasantly stuffed without feeling bloated and had eaten every scrap.

Was pleasantly surprised at just how good it was, and represents good value for money considering the quality of the fare on offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Horse & Jockey always has a good atmosphere and great food although it was quite quiet on the vening we went (Friday). This was probably due to summer holidays etc., They have quite a varied menu with a blackboard of lovely specials. One thing, it does appear to have a got a little more expensive and feels a little over-priced for the size of the portions .....however, you do always get good food here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still Excellent - But......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love this pub restaurant - still one of my favourites around. Recently had Sunday dinner with a group. As usual food was excellent all-round, we all had a fab afternoon. And together with The Black Horse near Shefford & The Plough at Bolnhurst are among the best in the area IMO. Only one criticism - I thought the portions were looking a little smaller, but otherwise another great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse & Jockey also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse & Jockey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.