We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a super thank you from us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bedford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a super thank you from us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thank you for making our daughter and new son in law's wedding day special. Everything went so smoothly, we had a wonderful time and everyone commented on how professional you all were. Big thanks to Rachel for all your help with such short notice in organising their day Equalling a big thank you to Erkul who oversaw the wedding reception. Every member of staff we had dealings with from the reception to the time we left was professional understanding and helpful. Due to circumstances it was a very emotional day but a great success once again thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your five star review. We are delighted that the event was a success, and, we hope that we may welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    269
    136
    95
    59
See reviews for
165
319
43
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is nicely situated over the river, our room had a river view.
Rooms are nice, clean, a little small as was the wardrobe.
Hotel communal areas i really liked, individual, comfortable and staff at reception was very good.
Hotel has a pool and jacuzzi, and does spa treatments, only visited pool, nicely done.
Bar staff were a little slow, restaurant was not good, food quality let down as did the waiter who dropped food into my lap twice hardly managing to say sorry.
I would stay again, but eat out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that in the main, you enjoyed your time with us.
I will communicate your feedback to the food and beverages department. We are very sorry that on this occassion, we failed to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed over here for a birthday treat (this is the 4th time I have stayed here.) I must say that we were greeted with such a warm welcome and made to feel very special during our stay. The room was incredibly comfy and I have never slept so well I didn't want to leave it:)

We are extremely fussy so visiting again for the 4th time must say something.

Well recommended and I will definitely be going back again (even though I only live a mile away) it was a very nice treat made even more special by such wonderful staff.

Thank you to all at The Bedford Swan Hotel

Lady Kendall Joel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your five star review. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay so special. We hope that we may see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Took 30 mins to check in as wedding party was checking in, only one person for most of the time was working on reception. Crazy
Suite 338 was lovely , wonky floors but hey added character.
Low beams on one side of the room so not good for tall people.
Room service was quick but food was not up to much.... Very disappointing for a 4* hotel.
Thai green curry was missing, Garlic, chilli, lemongrass , all it contained was coriander and coconut milk ! Does the chef taste the food?
The Steaks took 40 mins to arrive over cooked and cold , what do you do wait another 40 mins or just eat it ? But for £30 per fillet steak , should at least have been warm !
Room service breakfast was hot and lovely, the best we had in the entire stay.

Water pressure very poor, took ages to run a bath , and the shower was a dribble....but nicely decorated and clean bathroom.
We could hear the wedding disco up on the 3 rd floor , would not to have liked to be any lower.

For £119 per night , would I stay here again? Mmmm yes , but would complain directly about the food!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations. I hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have another chance to provide you with the superior experience that we aim to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Beautifully restored property with good facilities, friendly staff and delicious food. We had a well presented and comfortable room and it was so quiet did not awake till 10 am. What a shame it is in Bedford! Needless to say an excellent stop en route.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Bedford Swan Hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us, and, I hope that we may be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 15 December. Very central to town centre and yet beautifully located opposite the river ouse - with swans right beside the water's edge. Arrived late afternoon and the hotel was lavishly decorated for Christmas, which gave it a very homely feel. Decor traditional but elegant and stylish. The lobby area was very packed as there was a wedding party trying to check in, and the car park full, with no option than to double park as there was no overflow car park.
Despite this, our stay was excellent. The receptionists very efficient and booked us a room away from the wedding party so we were not disturbed by any noise or commotion during the evening. We chose to eat in the dining room that night and the food was excellent. Good value. Our room was modern and well decorated, so we had a great time and would recommend this hotel for an enjoyable week-end away. Felt very pampered.

Room Tip: If wedding or large function is on, request a room well away from any anticipated noise for a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it's always very encouraging to read. I will ensure that it is communicated to the team, who will be very grateful. We hope that we may be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had our wedding meal at The Swan and our expectations were met and exceeded. Emily was fantasic and catering for us all and dealt promtly with my last minute questins and requests. The staff on the day in both bar and restuarant, were so helpful. We have two small cousins with us and the staff were wonderful in keeping them entertained with hats and crackers. Even though there were 23 of us eating all meals were served hot and everyone ate at the same time. We had the festive meal which was delicious, I loved the choice of traditins Xmas food and alternatives in fact on getting the menu we were all spoilt for choice.

We were offered a function room at the last minute which went down very well as we were able to make our meal/evening last longer and do the usual cake cutting and have coffee and mince pies without trying to find space for everyone in the bar!

My (new) husband and I stayed over in one of the suites which was roomy, comfortable and had stunning views overthe river. I loved the lay out of the room and the exposed beams :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite, ours was elegant, comfortable, roomy, and you get wonderful views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for sharing your very positive feedback with us. We are delighted that we were able to be involved in your special day.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.