We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
64 Tavistock St, Bedford MK40 2RG, England
+44 1234 325655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 340 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A relaxed evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found a table on Saturday evening with no reservation. The food was copious and tasty - not too spicy - the "non-oaked" California Chardonnay accompanied it beautifully, and service was friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    7
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from the Sunday buffet, was actually heading to an other restaurant, the current deal is 4.95 which is excellent value!
Choice of 4 curries, 3 veg dishes, pakora, and chicken tikka starter. Really enjoyed this today, will come back . Total bill £41 with drinks for five. Not much more than a McDonald's for lunch!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant tonight with friends using a discount card. The meal was good as was the service and price. Would be happy to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“modern indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

visited saffron in May for a family celebration. The restaurant was bright and breezy with modern decor. The menu was as you would expect extensive and offered a variety cooking styles. The service was attentive but not pushy, although they were very busy we were never left waiting or felt we were being rushed. The food was very good, We all had curries of one heat level or another, my chicken madras was excellent, right heat, good texture and I am told that the Prawn and Beef dishes were very good as well. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Taken out to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were taken out to dine last night, first time to Saffron known for "contempory indian cuisine", the decor is not typical more minimalist but I thought the food was typical. Though served on huge fancy shaped plates (which did not fit on table when 4 around it), it was still indian food that i knew but that is not to say it was not nice.
We set off with a mixed starter for 2 as ladies did not want much, lovely little nibbles of lamb, chicken, beef, veg etc (as it was for 2 though why only 1 prawn), we then all ordered our own main dish a couple bowls of rice and a side, I tried some of all dishes it was excellent quality they all had there own flavour really nice. Washed down with Cobra lager, 2 puds later meal over.
The service was not fantastic, the waiters seemed to know others in the resturant and they got more attention than we did, they also appeared to get a free nightcap at end of meal, i was not asked if I wanted coffee even. Overall it was great but not excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.