We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaha Indian

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shaha Indian
89/91 Botchergate (entrance on Tait Street) Carlisle, Carlisle CA1 1RS, England
1228 520 050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 258 restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Up till now, I've concentrated on Hotel reviews. However, it occurred to me that I visit more eateries than I do Hotels and when I am in unknown territory its good to have a review of these.

So, the Shaha - This is a 2nd floor Restaurant with the entrance tucked away just off Botchergate. The first impressions when entering are that the decor is somewhat 'plain' compared to other Indian establishments - do not let this put you off! I have eaten here 3 times over the last 2 months and the food & service has been good on all occasions. I would recommend that you include a chicken dish in your food choice, as the chef appears to have a great understanding of marinating his poultry and my best description is 'succulent'!
If you'd like to take my advice a little further, I suggest that you order the Chicken Pakora - its devine!

If you're in Carlisle (which is a very lively place - particularly Botchergate), then don't miss the Shaha if you fancy a damn good Indian meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    32
    19
    4
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Distinctive Indian restaurant with strong feel of authenticity. Pleasant atmosphere with very tasty food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLISLE, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick service, delicious food, great value for money :0)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Speedy food delivered to the table fresh and fast.
Nan breads were piping hot with light dough brushed with butter - the best in town.
We will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Give the oinion bhajis a miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Bhajis were as tough as old boots , the chicken vindaloo was about as hot as a korma the only good bit about the meal was the mango chutney.
the chapaties burnt will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never listen to a local cabbie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've never had such a bad indian meal as I did hear on Friday 12/10/12 .Me and three friends had organised to go to an Indian restraurant [the teza] on our visit to Carlisle last weekend but we used a local taxi to take us on a trip and asked him about our booking to which he replied ''the best indian restaurant is the Shaha in Carlisle'' and then told us the teza was a bad choice.We duly cancelled our booking and arranged to go to his choice Ahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!All of us agreed the service was crap the food was even worse,we are all curry eaters and chose a wide selection of fare from their extensive menu.and not one of them hit the spot.It was that bad that we didn't even bother to complain as nothing they could have done would have made it better and it was better to leave with our head held high rather than have an argument with rude staff.BEST PLAN IS GIVE IT A WIDE BERTH.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaha Indian also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Shaha Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaha Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.