We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Guest House

Abbey Court Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Court Guest House
Save
You added Abbey Court Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22-26 London Road, Carlisle CA1 2EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 66 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Accrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once again back to this establishment. Another comfortable stay as I've come to expect from here. Nothing is a problem. The room was spotless, the bed was comfy and warm and the breakfast again was to die for. I don't know how people can give this place a bad review. I can only guess it's rival guest houses creating bogus profiles. I've not once had any problems in all my stays here. Top marks once again and won't hesitate to book again when I'm back in the area. Ignore any bad reviews I've never had a problem. As they say you can't please all the people all the time.

Room Tip: It's on a main road so the front facing rooms are louder but I use that term very lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
14
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Stayed at abbey court in early dec visiting family we couldnt believe the high standard of the whole place spotless warm and facilities very good . We had a warm welcome on arrival but the best part of the stay had to be the bed I just wanted to take it home the bedding was good quality as was the pillows .wont stay anywhere else now ive been here xxxx

Room Tip: Room 7 was so cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We arrived late to the town and had to find somewhere quickly. This guest house had the family room left and it was decent and comfortable.

The bathroom and toilet is shared, but we didn't have an issue with queues etc.

The heating could've been a bit better, as our room was large and it didn't warm the room much.

Breakfast was included and she land lady was serving, so it felt quite homely.

Outdoors, the patio garden was gorgeous. It would be lovely in summer.

The accommodation is affordable and quaint. It's a good stopover guest house.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We spent two nights here after walking along Hadrian's Wall Path and found a very comfortable room and a welcoming hostess. Abbey Court is a few minutes' walk from the centre of Carlisle and is a well-kept guest house with everything you need available. The room was clean and the ensuite bathroom spotless. Breakfast included a good choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit etc and a tasty cooked breakfast was also on offer. Breakfast times were flexible to suit demand. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you, Linda.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Typical landlady been there over 30 years so at the point of can't be bothered!!
Never the less still a lovely lady and when we got talking to her nothing was to much trouble.
We stayed in room 12 .brilliant.clean tidy comfortable.very inviting and cumfy bed!well appointed with everything you would need.eg.flat seen TV brew station stereo extra quilt heaters.
French doors from room to a lovely small garden (great for smokers).
Highlight for us was a superb breakfast.
Seemed expensive on first walking in . However on leaving refreshed next morning felt like really good value for money.
Hayley and Tony. .Thanks Linda

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The guest house is one of the best in Carlisle. A warm welcome, the bedroom was neat, clean and tidy. The breakfasts are lovely and very well presented. The staff are wonderful, which is why we returned for a second visit

Room Tip: Well worth a stay, whichever room you are given
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My partner and I Collette Daniels stayed here on the 5th of July when the Kaiser chiefs were playing at the race course.We had a good, friendly chat with the landlord about music and festivals and told him we would be in late which he had no problem with.We were impressed with our ground floor room which opened out onto a pretty yard where you could have a cigarette if you smoked.Sorry I can't comment on the breakfast because we slept in,though we were still given tea and toast.

Room Tip: Easily within walking distance from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Guest House

Address: 22-26 London Road, Carlisle CA1 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Court Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.