We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good but restaurant can let it down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42
Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Orphir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel good but restaurant can let it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, one night. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent but the self service side lets it down. No trays are provided so its a constant backwards and forwards trip for coffee, orange juice, cereals and then join everyone else waiting for the toaster to perform! Meanwhile your breakfast - which is excellent - has been cooked. If only trays were provided for to enable guests to make just one or two trips to the self service table so much time would be saved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    120
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
105
119
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
s
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night I chose this Premier Inn as it is close to Carlisle Racecourse a short taxi ride of about ten mins. the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a large tv. the only downside to this hotel was there was no airconditioning although a fan was provided it wasn't really enough. would stay again as we got this hotel stay for a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just off motorway quiet situation..perfect 10 minutes from carlisle racecourse . Hotel is good clean and comfortable staff pleasant. We ate breakfast in restuarant cold was buffet but had to order hot not as good as other premier inns and not cleanest food on floor ...felt floor could have been doing with a good clean. Would definately stay in the rooms again as was very comfortable and quiet, I have rated this on accomodation and not on restuarant as it would have ben totally different,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We holiday nearly every year in Scotland and usually break our return journey around Glasgow. This year we decided to push on a bit further and spare some pain on the final leg back to Bristol. Having checked the reviews, this looked good, and it was ideal. 30 secs off the M6, hugely friendly (as with all PIs, which strikes me is one of the main selling points), nice restaurant with very friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended. Our younger daughter gets actively excited about stays in PIs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved this premier inn the staff in hotel and table table were very friendly and welcoming we stayed with our one year old son and everyone made an effort to speak to him and say hi ect will defiantly stay at this one again.
Bed big and comfy room clean and tidy nice big tv on the wall not like the normal little ones you usually get.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We decided to break our journey to Scotland and booked for one night here. We arrived at 23:40 after a long drive, and were very warmly welcomed by Eva, who immediately appreciated that it had been a long day and handled the check in and breakfast booking very quickly. The room was fine, and breakfast the next morning at the Border Gate next door lived up to it's title of "premier breakfast" ... The only disappointment was that there was no de-caf filter coffee available only sachets of instant decaf, but at least it was Kenco decaf! Staff friendly and helpful and if doing the same journey again would choose to stop off here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous!
It has always been easy to complain and give off about bad service so, now I have decided to commend Jct42 for their excellent service!
Couldn't be more friendly or helpful both in hotel or Table Table!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42

Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.