We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Carlisle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle Central

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Carlisle Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central
Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Central Carlisle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very good service, better than average facilities for budget hotel. Reliable service over two different hotels. Good exercise to walk in and out of centre of Carlisle - about 15-20mins. Staff eager to please and were flexible on departure time


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding Carlisle Central Premier Inn. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location and great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel that this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    122
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
123
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well, a fair bit when you've travelled a distance and are searching for Central but the name on the outside is Lakeland Gate and it's a mile from central Carlisle so you drive past! Realising our error we got there and mentioned this to the Receptionist who said the large name on the building related to the attached pub - not helpful really! We found once again that Premier's policy of energy saving meant the illumination in the room wasn't good and to read a book you had to use a bedside light. Also, although the thermostat said the room temperature was 23 degrees, it ceratinly didn't feel that warm, quite chilly even. As a regular Premier Inn user, I've noted that the type of pub/restaurant attached means food standards can differ and this one was fractionally less good than others we've been to recently, but certainly inexpensive. Staff all through were helpful, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible standards and service. Please be assured we are currently looking into getting a sign placed for the Premier Inn as you exit off the main road, this way our guests will be able to find the hotel without any issues. We are also in the process of checking all our rooms; lighting in the hotel and the room temperature to ensure the best possible service is delivered. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, should you stay with us again and you still find the room to be a bit cold, please contact a member of reception and we do have spare heaters and duvets available to ensure you are comfortable with us. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle Central in the future.

Kind Regards
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had to attend our son's graduation in Carlisle recently, which meant we needed 2 rooms (one for us and one for the son and his girlfriend) for 2 nights. The husband identified this hotel as being convenient and not too expensive, and we paid in advance to get an even better bargain. We arrived at about 8.30pm and check-in went smoothly, once the member of staff on duty had returned to the front desk.
Our rooms were in a separate building. Don't expect luxury, a safe, wardrobes with doors, biscuits on the tea/coffee tray, etc, but do appreciate the inoffensive decor, cleanliness and comfort.
Breakfast was an additional cost, but not bad value for the all-you-can-eat continental or hot buffets. On the first morning (a Friday) the Costa coffee machine was not available and coffee was provided in flasks. It was vile so I skipped breakfast on the second morning. The husband said the Costa machine was in operation that day.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There seemed to be plenty of parking and it was quiet. Taxis to the city centre cost about £5 (reasonable for 4 people). The 76 bus brings you to a nearby bus stop, but goes all over the place before getting on to Warwick Road. A handy location for the city, and for the football and rugby grounds. There is also a Tesco nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carlisle Central Premier Inn.
Your feedback is very important to us and we are pleased that overall your stay met your expectations and you were comfortable and found our location convenient for your son's graduation, which I hope you had a lovely time at. Thank you for your comments regarding your Breakfast experience, all feedback is welcomed and I have passed on these comments to the Restaurant General Manager; we are however pleased to hear you found the team to be pleasant and helpful. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle Central Premier Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Needed somewhere too stay overnight in Carlisle, as near as possible to the Cumbria University residences in which my granddaughter is staying. Nice welcome. Room excellent. Had excellent night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding Carlisle Central Premier Inn.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another visit to your grand daughter perhaps.

Kind Regards
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently spent 1 night in Premier Inn Carlisle Central. Great location for visiting town. We had a triple room - large double bed & 1 single bed. Bedding was very clean & comfortable with ample pillows & towels provided. Bedroom was adequate size, didn't feel cramped. Some road noise but this wasn't an issue, plenty of car park spaces.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Carlisle Central Premier Inn.
Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good value, comfortable, clean room. Friendly helpful staff. Would use it again.
You would need a short taxi or bus ride if carrying luggage from the rail station. I was visiting the Rugby club and it was a perfect location for that and easy to drive to without going through the streets of Carlisle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient for the Rugby club. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you were happy with the clean rooms and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle Central Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights so we could have a weekend in Carlisle with the family. This premier was easy to get to, but away from motorway. They have the nicest, friendliest staff I have ever met at any big hotel chain, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms basic as they all are but exceptionally clean and beds very comfortable.
The restaurant attached was also a big chain but again the food was good but the staff brilliant, and the breakfast wonderful. We will definitely be back to this one.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilidh M, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Carlisle Central, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We are very pleased to hear that you think that our hotel is the best Premier Inn and that our lovely staff contributed so much to your stay. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle Central Premier Inn again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eilidh Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central

Address: Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Carlisle Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.