We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Carlisle Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Carlisle Central
Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £61
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Carlisle
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent three nights here based on the previous reviews & the great price on offer.£83.00 for three nights room only.

I found this to be a nice place to stay with some very nice staff. Rooms clean & well laid out. Nice & quiet as well. Being midweek i suppose that helped.

Nice restaurant & bar servicing some good food.

Please note this is a 20 minute walk to town but a bust goes by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe as less chance of being disturbed. The reception is in the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    149
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
122
145
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Egremont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We regularly stay in Premier Inn hotels but this is the first time at this one in Carlisle. We only stayed 1 night so we could attend a concert nearby.
Unfortunately the heating system wasn't working properly and we couldn't maintain a constant temperature in the room. It was freezing outside and the wind whistled through the windows. We were out of the room from 5pm until 11pm so it wasn't a major problem but once under the duvet we didn't dare venture out of bed !. There was a bit of outside noise from the Brewers Fayre restaurant next door with people coming & going all day/night etc and noisy guests who insist on 'thudding' their way around the room but nothing we haven't experienced before.
The hotel is in the centre of Carlisle and a short taxi ride from concert venues etc.
We had an early evening meal in the Brewers Fayre which meant it was full of kids running around. The food was ok, nothing special and the menu was a bit limited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Yet another perfect Premier Inn and a perfect room with an oooh so comfortable bed. Sadly on the second night a guest and his lady friend who had moved in to the room next door decided it was acceptable behaviour to play loud 1990s rock music at extremely loud volume. At first I thought it was from a car stereo system outside but when I went out in the hall it was deafening, coming from the room right next door. I went to reception and complained, making it clear I was laying the full blame with the guest and not with Premier Inn. The receptionists both apologised and I returned upstairs where I made a video of the selfish guest's bedroom door so that I could email it to my colleagues and friends. At this point one of the receptionists appeared and she was visibly shocked at the volume of the music which by this time was "Cigarettes And Alcohol" by Oasis. She knocked on the door but had to do so twice as the guest and his lady friend obviously didn't hear her knocking due to the volume of their music. She politely asked them to turn the music down and amazingly they did. For the rest of the night though, until I left at 0200 hours they were talking loudly, banging the bathroom door and bumping against the wall. I think they both thought they were the main characters in a Quentin Tarantino movie, at least that is how they were acting, like they were psyching themselves up for a bank robbery the next day. Drugs, alcohol, loud rock music, bank robbery. In reality I suspect they were probably 30 something selfish people with no thought for anyone else in the world apart from themselves.

I wish to commend the receptionist who was able to so professionally solve the main problem. My concern is that it became apparent through conversation that if she had been unable to solve the loud music issue then I would have been refunded the cost of my night's stay. Surely a better policy would be: A) move me to a room as far away from the selfish rock fans and B) blacklist them on a two stage warning system and if they did something similar again just ban them from Premier Inn? Selfish people like the two next door to me don't deserve to be allowed in as good a hotel as a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Any problems, always go to reception and explain them calmly and politely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Efficient and friendly. Helpful staff came to my room when I had problems opening the door. Room comfortable and clean. Little noise to disturb what was a good nights sleep. A very good breakfast was the next morning. A good experience overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our 1st premier inn experience ,and i couldn't fault it on any count,very pleasant check in , attentive bar and restaurant staff and very good meal,not fine dining but excellent 'pub' food and without doubt great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not a comment about premier inn accommodation as we have used them for years 2 or 3 times a year and have always been happy with the standard of service. Earlier this year i booked 2 double rooms for two consecutive weekends in may as an overnight stay on our trip to skye with friends. I stupidly forgot to alter the date of arrival and left this as the date of booking and was debited £140 pounds for a non arrival. OK this was my fault but have been trying to contact the customer relations department for 2 weeks by phone and by e mail to see if there is any way this can be credited to the correct days as we have been a long term customer.After having been passed on from one person to another on the phone and 3 e mails we still have not had any reply to even say that this is not possible. I now feel that i will cancel the booking for the previous weekend and not use them again as I cannot see why a simple phone call or e mail could not have been made in return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel to see sons production at University. We had Dinner & breakfast in the restaurant, dinner by far the better value. Good size family rooms & had excellent nights sleep
There was a slight problem with the outer door of the building, for Eilidh,the receptionist nothing was too much trouble to put it right.This hotel is well located just off the M6 and near to the city centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central

Address: Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Carlisle Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.