We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Liddel Water Lodge

Private location on a river bank
Private location on a river bank
Private location on a river bank
Private location in area of natural beauty
Jacuzzi hot tub
Kitchen with granite work surfaces
Large dining table
Carlisle
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chris o
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This lodge did not dissapoint one bit, it really is amazing and the views are unbeatable. The cabin is built to a very high standard and Dominique and Simon have furnished the interior superbly with no expense spared! Really want to go back next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JulieD45
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, a peaceful and relaxing hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

There are not enough superlatives to describe this wonderful gem. The Lodge is superbly decorated and equipped with absolute attention to detail and is in one of the most idyllic, peaceful and relaxing locations we have ever visited. If you want a place in which to relax, truly unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then this is the place for you. Unspoilt natural beauty is the backdrop for this magnificent Lodge. The sound of the river and the birds are the only music you need in this truly beautiful holiday home.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The seclusion, the beautiful location, the love and care that has gone in to creating this gem
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kevin D
Luanda, null, Angola
1 review
“Fantastic cabin in lovely surroundings x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Friendly helpful owners,we were so relaxed 3 kids and the dog loved it long walks then back to log fire to warm up,chilling in hot tub to relax and unwind with the sound of the river and the birds,best nights sleep had by all x

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quite location/surrounding woodland
Liked least: Nothing/all good
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kirstine...
Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 and our dog Charlie over the May bank holiday. We have stayed in a log cabin before but I have to stay Liddel water lodge is 5* self catering accommodation! The owners were a lovely friendly couple who couldn't do enough for you. We were greeted by Dominique who had left us home made cupcakes, biscuits and a bottle of wine as a welcome pack which was such a lovely gesture. The accommodation is fabulous, and it is evident that a lot of thought has been out in to the furnishings and the household items. I thought from the picture it would be lovely but even better than imagined. The kids loved the hot tub and my son spent hours in the river trying to catch a fish!! Already planning our next visit.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gavin B
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spot on - the perfect get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We recently stayed at Liddel Water Lodge for a long weekend and we had a fantastic time. With beautifully crafted timbers on the outside, the log cabin is perfectly and tastefully decorated on the inside. With all of the modern amenities you would expect, there is also a lot of comfort, warmth and cosiness. A log-burner (along with a massive basket of logs) ensures that the evenings are always very comfortable and relaxing, while the hot-tub on the balcony gives the place a really exciting and modern twist. The doors in the living area fully open up so that you can really take in the unspoiled view. It really is a fantastic get-away and we will definitely be going back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hot tub on the balcony!
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Matthew m
Welbeck
1 review
“As good as self catering can be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

All together I couldn't fault this place at all, beautiful secluded location, Dominique met us on arrival and was very helpful and accomodating without being intrusive at all, very nice to have some goodies as well.

The standard of the lodge was excellent and a nice mix of rustic charm and modern comforts.

Will certainly be back and recommending it to friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adam P
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally blown away, probably the best place we have ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We booked our stay at Liddle Water Lodge after seeing the excellent reviews and pictures. Nothing compared to the amazing stay that we actually got. From the moment we first arrived we couldn't actually believe the place was real, it was so beautiful. Set totally on it's own, nestled down by the woods and the beautiful river. The lodge has been beautifully built and looks like part of the landscape, complimenting the view perfectly.

Simon and Dom were the most attentive hosts you could ask for, giving us a lovely welcome when we arrived and then Simon would come everyday to check the hot tub and bring us more logs if we needed them.

We felt ourselves unwind more and more each day and we also found more and more of Simon and Dom's brilliant attention to detail. Even the soap and bath bombs were of the highest standard! All the crockery was Royal Doulton and the furniture was beautiful and well chosen. The hot tub was also sensational! There is no WiFi or cellular at the property due to it being on it's own but we all agreed that this was a very good thing! It allows you to totally disconnect and we quickly hated hearing our phones beep when we did drive out to signal range!

If you need to unwind and relax with the option of stunning British scenery on your doorstep, this is the place for you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The isolation
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$311
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Dominique H
44 1228 577151
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2012
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing