We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ruleholme, Irthington, Carlisle CA6 4NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a gorgeous, quirky pub with accommodation on outskirts of Carlisle.
The staff were so friendly and helpful which made our stay so special.
Food was excellent.. awesome steak burger and the best sticky toffee pudding me and my hubby have ever tasted. Breakfast was delicious with good quality produce.
Our room was a little small but very clean and had a lovely view over the fields, with nice touches of different teas, shortbread and fresh milk available.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
43
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not the obvious choice for Hadrian's Wall and near Carlisle stays but it certainly will be in future, we are already planning a trip back. A cafetiere for coffee and home baking awaited us in the room, very welcome after the drive. The room was large and the bathroom looked very new and clean with plenty of toiletries and fluffy white towels. A very comfortable night's stay.
The bar was cosy with a good range of beers and wines. The food was delicious and it was obviously a favourite with locals.
An excellent base for visiting all the local attractions.

Room Tip: book a table in the excellent restaurant beforehand as it understandably gets very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English in Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife could not believe the "bargain" nature of this Travelzoo offer, she was prepared to "slate" me for it.
But she is absolutely contrite after what has been one of the best overnight stays we have ever had, and sooooooooooo close to home as well.
Perfect hosts - Hayley and Pippa are 2 lovely young ladies who combine informality, professionalism and friendliness (not to mention the good looks!!!) - to perfection. The Inn is so easy to find, the room was excellent, lovely and warm (very necessary for a Cumbrian April!), the cosy interior of the public areas, excellent G and T from the bar, and the piece de resistance was the dinner! Beautiful lamb, after an excellent crayfish starter (Jeanette had the goat's cheese salad with walnuts) and lovely crunchy-topped creme brulee for pudding. All washed down with a rather spiffing bottle of French Malbec (sure the wine was an upgrade on the offer!!!).
We are not a fault-finding couple, but even if we were we could have thought of nothing negative about our brief overnighter at the Golden Fleece.
Hoping to go back asap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancashire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just enjoyed a 2 night break at The Golden Fleece on a Travelzoo voucher. The room (4) was lovely, spacious and clean with a nice touch of homemade shortbread on arrival. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and very clean with a nice spacious shower. My only little gripe about the room was lack of any drawers to put clothes that didn't require hanging up, there was a couple of shelves at the top of the hanging space in the wardrobe but not really adequate and too tall for me to reach.
We ate dinner in the restaurant on both nights as the food was so good. Both had rib eye steaks on the first night, then seabass and lamb the following night - all excellent and big portions. Lovely complimentary touch of canapés whilst browsing through the menu sat by the fire. Not having visited that area before, we walked a circular walk of Hadrians Wall which was really nice, then stopped off in Carlisle for a shopping day on our way home (great selection of shops).
All the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend the Inn either for an overnight break or just for food if passing. Would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for our mini-moon last weekend. Hotel and food were excellent. We had the honeymoon suite which was lovely.
My only gripe was the noise of the boiler/extraction fan that was going continuously even through the night!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our visit to The Golden Fleece was the last night of our holiday in Scotland and came about due to a Travel Zoo Voucher. It looked & sounded nice in all the photos and there were some good reviews but it surpassed all our expectations and we really did enjoy every moment of our visit.
We were immediately made welcome and shown to our room. For an old coaching inn, the rooms are very modern with every amenity you could need. Spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. A jug of milk instead of those UHT pots and gorgeous Chocolate Brownies as a treat. Good shower, comfy bed but if I had to be picky then I would have liked better lighting. We arrived at the bar for our evening meal and again the staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The menu was delightful and everything we ordered looked as good as it tasted, just about perfect. Good portions too! Even though this was a Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal Package we were not made to feel in anyway 2nd Class, it was a fantastic deal and we will definitely make it part of any future visits to the area. Totally recommend it and wish we lived closer as it had such a lovey atmosphere it would make a great "local".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for a special weekend; wedding anniversary,my birthday & mothers day all rolled into one. We were not disappointed. After reading great reviews we booked the Travelzoo 2 night deal which included full breakfast on both days and evening meal with wine on the first night. The food was fantastic with a choice of good quality wines The bedroom and ensuite were lovely; quality toiletries, choice of teas, coffee & hot chocolate and immaculately clean.
My only small niggle was that there was only smoked bacon @ breakfast which sadly I found too strong for my liking but there was plenty of other food to fill up on!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Ruleholme, Irthington, Carlisle CA6 4NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.