We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home made cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Engine House

The Old Engine House
West Walls, Carlisle CA3 8UF, England
01228 510741
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
carlisle
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely home made cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Only realised this place existed because of trip advisor, thought I would go see for myself. It's lovely, home made cakes and local produce, well worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are not from Carlisle but visited here recently with family.
This is a lovely cafe, decorated nicely and a range of well priced food and drink.
Only negative, is that the mocha was not chocolately at all, which is common in cafes and my worst nightmare, when it tastes like dishwater.
Otherwise lovely! A gem in Carlisle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“LOVELY, LOVELY,LOVELY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My friend recommended a visit here and since taking her advice I'm in, at least, once a week - be it with my friend for a coffee and catch-up or lunch with my husband. It really is a hidden gem.

They do different "specials" every day - with some lovely unusual combinations - all very tasty. The service is excellent. It isn't a very big place so you may struggle to get a table at lunchtime.
It is out of the way but really is worth a visit. It is also excellent value too.

So get yourself there you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have reviewed the old engine house before quite some time ago, I thought it was time for an update. Without doubt the old engine house is the best place in town. I'm always welcomed by the staff, and each time I visit I try to pick one of the new specials, these specials change every day. A great range of flavours I only wish I could think of the combinations. Give it a go you won't be disappointed at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Worth tracking down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recommendations on Tripadvisor led me to The Old Engine House. Although it's in the city centre, it's not on the main shopping streets so you are unlikely to stumble across it by accident.

It's not the biggest cafe, just over half a dozen tables and a couple of comfy chairs. There are is also a small deli area selling ambient food items.

There are daily specials, an extensive standard menu including an interesting selection of drinks.

I had a sandwich and tea. The tea was very good and the sandwich freshly made to order (and I had a sandwich filling combination not on the menu but it was made without fuss).

Reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Engine House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Engine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Engine House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.