We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening , good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Outpost

Royal Outpost
22 Botcher Gate, Carlisle CA1 1QS, England
+44 1228 818448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 272 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Royal Outpost One of the first restaurants in Carlisle of its kind if not Cumbria, introducing Malaysian and Thai cuisine .Sit on one flight for two exotic journeys – the most exciting, colourful and vibrant cuisines of Asia.Royal Outpost is an ideal place to experience the depth and variety of Malaysian and Thai cuisine which draws influences from it’s multicultural heritage, with hints of Chinese, Indian and European cuisines. The restaurant makes an excellent venue for fine dining with 1930 Tudor Gothic style interior oak panels making your overall dining experience a memorable one.The Royal Outpost team are delighted to present a careful selection of authentic dishes made from fresh ingredients to tantalise your taste buds. Our menu not only combines the best traditional dishes from family kitchens but has also incorporated some Western influences to bring a fresh & balanced feel to our food.
south yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening , good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Upstairs above a pub, this in an attractive and welcoming restaurant with a choice of Malay and Thai food. The service was great, no problems, and the restaurant was clean, colourful and the food was good. We aren't particularly experienced in eating Thai food but this seemed authentic and very tasty . The coconut rice was fragrant and the roti went very well with the green curry . We ordered white wine and it wasn't chilled which was the only negative point in the evening .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    38
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I love the building this restaurant is in its very historic and has lovely old features not what you would expect at all from the street. The staff are very polite. The food is very tasty a good selection. A place to keep returning to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go up the stairs and experience a relaxed atmosphere and excellent meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Royal Outpost has a relaxed atmosphere followed by easy going staff happy to show you a good choice of combinations on the menu. When your food arrives you will have a very authentic meal which will satisfy you and all in all make for a fantastic evening. Sharon and Voytek will bring you a great dining experience, a must if you're passing through or live locally!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Took an Australian friend here with us - first time for all of us. Excellent meal, beautifully prepared and extremely tasty without excessive seasoning. Very friendly but restrained service. We don't eat Thai or Malaysian food as often as Indian, but after this meal it will be changing. We will certainly be going back there before long.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

How difficult can it be to find a nice plate of decent thai food?
Well you won't go wrong with this establishment - they do a specail deal between 5 and 7 and all day sunday - a selection of 3 mains for £12. If two of you go then that gives you the opportunity of trying 6 dishes. Spoilt for choice is all I can say. The Lamb Rendang was total melt in your mounth food, flavoured as you would expect with that pungent thick rich sauce. I think that's how it was described on the menu. I couldn't resist the Sambal Prawns as I have always been tempted by the malay chilli paste.You only get that sort of flavour when you eat the Som Tum - hopefully that will be on the taster menu in the future. All the different flavours infusing and the opportunity to by a fresh pint of Cobra, usually associated with an India restaurant. They also seved Tiger and Singa to cleanse the palate. All I can say is try this unique experience of Malaysian and Thai, usually you have to travel to places like London or Manchester for such delights. I review asian influence food for a well known publication in Staffordshire and just wish we had this restaurant there. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Outpost also viewed

 

Been to Royal Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Outpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.