We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great family hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marchbank Hotel (Sportsmans Restaurant)

Marchbank Hotel (Sportsmans Restaurant)
Scots Dyke | Longtown, Carlisle CA6 5XP, England
1228 791325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 272 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just up the A7 along the Tourist Route to Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really great family hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Organised a small party at The Marchbank -great local food, excellent friendly service, lovely spacious and well appointed room. Overall a great small family run country house hotel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

the staff and the view and the pretty hotel the amazing customer service and the fantastic food. The bar was well stocked and great relaxed atmoshpere and the lake seemed full of fish :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Prices slightly lower but quality still fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For the last 3 years we have been dining at Marchbank and the food quality never disappoints. They seemed to have reduced the prices slightly which did concern me as I thought the quality may have suffered but I needn't have worried the service and food were still first class. Would highly recommend this to any foody!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We returned because we expected a friendly welcome, lovely room and wonderful food. We were not disappointed. Our room was very comfortable and we relaxed with a cuppa before going to the bar for a pre dinner drink The menu offered tempting choices but we both chose game dishes from the seasonal local produce on the specials board and they were two of the nicest meals we have eaten anywhere. Not only quality but plenty to fill us. After a good nights sleep it was a challenge to manage a full english breakfast but it set us up for a full day out in the area. It was deja vu when we got back to the hotel, consistency we now take for granted.
Just the best place we ever stay and we have been visiting for about seventeen years - long may Richard and Claire and their family reign.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional local cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Took my 88yr old Dad for his birthday lunch, we all thoroughly enjoyed our food and all chose different things! Pigeon breast with black pudding, seasonal duck and veg followed by sponge pudding with raspberries and custard..... Sublime. Service was first class. Definitely a great place for Sunday lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marchbank Hotel (Sportsmans Restaurant) also viewed

 

Been to Marchbank Hotel (Sportsmans Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marchbank Hotel (Sportsmans Restaurant), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.