We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Breakfast But Hotel Needs An Uplift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinegrove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pinegrove Hotel to your Saves list
Pinegrove Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinegrove Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   262 London Road, Carlisle CA1 2QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Chorley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Good Breakfast But Hotel Needs An Uplift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Saturday 18th January 14
Never been to Carlisle before,However my partner and i had gone for a personal reason and wanted a hotel for the night.Drove past this one and it looked ok from the outside,However decided to stay £60 for a double en suite room.Which was a bit basic.The shower in the ensuite may as well not have been there for what is worth ,if you wanted a cold shower then fine however if you wanted the hot version the water dribbled out.Bed was a bit low and not a good nights sleep.However the full the English breakfast the following morning made up a little bit for this

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is situated a tad out of the city centre — I should say, if you are coming form Carlisle station, at least half an hour’s walk, and most of it uphill. Yet, in the end, that is a good thing. The surroundings are a haven of quietude; this hotel is located in a most pleasant nook of the city, which on Saturday nights can be highly advantageous to one’s nocturnal rest.

Now, first and foremost: the hotel is all-right — absolutely. I must say, nevertheless, it has a tad of a late 80s appearance; the carpets have seen better days and I did find a bug of some kind in the bathroom, but in spite of that, it possesses all the amenities which one associates with a hotel. Staff are agreeable and convivial, and I did get my fair share of inebriation at the bar (dodgy quizzing machine notwithstanding).

In essence: all you need to do upon leaving the hotel is to turn left and keep going. You will encounter the city centre, the cathedral and the fascinating Carlisle Castle, amongst other things. The breakfast at the Pinegrove is copious. In combination with its sedate environment, it provides an apt getaway. All hail to Carlisle, say I.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There was absolutely no noise. Flavoured lattes served in the bar. Hot chocolate and biscuits n the room. The mattress was a bit cheap but the bed linens were so comfortable. Awful view from the window. No bath but the shower was great despite looking a but shabby. It was hot and had lots of water. The staff were all lovely and friendly. The breakfast was sufficient but a little standard in quality. Plenty of parking. Too far from town to walk in but very convenient for M6 if commuting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Orton Cumbria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here with my family for over 6 months due to a house fire. The hotel is clean, great food(homemade). The staff are great, both professional and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Yes it is a little outdated but it is in keeping with the building.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel three times, and am about to stay for the fourth time. If you are looking for a posh hotel, newly decorated, mod cons and flash facilities, then this is not the one for you. But if you are looking for a hotel with friendly and attentive staff, a hotel with character, good food and cosiness, then this is the one to choose.
The times that I have stayed have been because of a family bereavement and I cannot fault the staff for their friendliness, sensitivity and helpfulness.
I notice from previous reviews that customers thought the facilities were dreary and cold. I found the hotel to be cosy and warm both in decor and temperature, and I know that if there had been a problem, then the staff would have done their utmost to sort it out for me.
I have eaten at the hotel each time and the food was good value for money. Always hot, and a good selection on the menu. Breakfast is really good! And there is a well-stocked bar too!
This hotel is very good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was shocked at the dreary inside to this hotel it is really run down and not really clean at all, carpet edges are dirty and the bathroom tiles are mouldy. The room was really cold too I was there with my granddaughter for one night and she is 9yr old and her opinion was (oh are we staying here!!!! she wanted to go some where else but it was late when we arrived so we went out to eat and got out early in the morn. Not good even for a 2star ......

Room Tip: There is'nt any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Why didnt I smell a rat, because they had all moved out. They where bit overkeen to get my money in advance and once I saw the room it wasnt hard to see why. My night was me and my family clinging on to a bed that had two legs shorter than the others, with the fear of touching the floor which moved. We are now suffering from anxiety, paranoia and fear.. Breakfast involved us hanging on to the bed as they waited for us, ready to grab a hold and feed. The bedbugs where actually more than just a cute little good night rhyme that I would say to my daughter before she goes to sleep. We are now all receiving counselling. Stay safe and avoid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinegrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Hotel

Address: 262 London Road, Carlisle CA1 2QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinegrove Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family-run hotel conveniently situated close to Carlisle city centre and the M6 with ample on-site parking available. The hotel has thirty comfortable en-suite bedrooms with television and direct dial telephone in each room. Delicious meals are served for lunch or dinner. Meeting and conference facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Pinegrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinegrove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.