We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet monday night meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bari Restaurant

Bari Restaurant
21-23 West Tower Street, Carlisle CA3 8QT, England
+44 1228 522970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 280 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Local family owned Bangladeshi restaurant providing authentic food in a contemporary atmosphere. Great for Parties/Get-togethers/Meal for 2's, whatever the occasion! Takeaways get 20% off on all orders over £10
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet monday night meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As usual Bari served up a delicious meal for us. This time we had a platter starter to share and it was superb. Tender meat selection with fresh salad.

For our mains we both had bison (buffalo) and the other half said it was the best meal she's ever tasted.

Service was superb and friendly.

We will be back. Recommended.

5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    32
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langholm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Indian in Carlisle by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We first went to Bari on valentines evening, atmosphere, staff, service and food top class, we enjoyed it so much we returned on Friday 21st feb, again everything above and beyond nothing was too much trouble, the owner even recognised us from last time which was a nice touch and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. We ordered completely different meals each visit and were not disappointed with either, if you want top class food with great staff and owners at a very reasonable price this is the place to be.... We will be back again in two weeks for sure :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

First visit - Great food, atmosphere & price.
Staffing was a bit of a problem, we visited on Valentine's night and it was very busy, only 2/3 members of staff serving the whole restaurant.. service was a little slow.
Food arrived quickly and there was plenty of it!
Would definitely go back, well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is OK if it ever arrives.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clearly there was a problem the night I visited, we were sat close to the kitchen door and after nearly an hour and a half I still hadn't seen a single dish leave the kitchen. After questioning the frankly rude waiting staff on how long we had to wait we were told by one member that 'they did the drinks'. I saw 2 couples walk out before our meals arrive.

The food was OK when it arrived but the horrible atmosphere of hungry, angry customers took away any enjoyment of our meal.

I can understand that a technical or staffing issue in the kitchen can cause problems however the lack of apology or explanation from waiting staff is unacceptable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BARI EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Second visit- this time with a colleague. Excellent food enhanced by culinary education. Exotic meats were inspired The kangaroo was tender and tasty. A must visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bari Restaurant also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Bari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.