We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best city centre bar food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle Cafe Bar

Circle Cafe Bar
5-10 Lowther Arcade, Carlisle CA3 8LX, England
01228 599939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 280 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
carlisle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best city centre bar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Can't recommend this small city centre bar/cafe enough, always the food is of excellent quality, ever changing menu and fresh local ingredients. There for a 50th birthday celebration right on Christmas week and the Christmas menu served was superb. The busy friendly staff provided an excellent service despite the bar getting busy through the evening with an excellent supply of cocktails and speciality beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    30
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Popped in for a quick drink and was met by knowledgeable staff who knew there spirits and beers. Would definitely recommend the chilli orange martini

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Third times a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I have now eaten here three times, twice for lunch and once for supper and I have to say the food is amazing!

I would highly recommend the nachos and the chicken and chorizo salad, very tasty and good size portions.

Service is very good, on the first two occasion it was excellent, I don't know the lady's name but she has lovely platinum blond hair. Today we were served bay a dark haired man and the service was ok, we were not offered condiments, fortunately my friend went to find some salt for her chips.

I can honestly say that if your looking for a really nice, home made lunch you can't go wrong than eating here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a place i just keep coming back to!
Either with my partner or friends, it's great for cocktails and food.
The food is amazing and locally sourced!
Perhaps they could introduce a loyalty scheme?
And yes at times the service could be quicker. But this won't stop me coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Always come back to the Circle Bar for great welcome and service any time of day. Good choice of wine and cocktails. Tasty food and snacks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Circle Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.