We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tranquil Otter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tranquil Otter
Save
You added The Tranquil Otter to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Thurstonfield, Carlisle CA5 6HB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
blyth, england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pure Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wow what a lovely weekend. I stayed with five other girls in the Heron. What a beautiful lodge, it was emaculate. Three good size rooms and 3 bathrooms. So clean finished to a high standard. The view of the lake was beautiful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
238
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first visit and I stayed with a group of 5 girl friends. One of the girls had stayed before and couldn't recommend it highly enough. We wanted a relaxing weekend, where we could enjoy each others company and generally catch up with each other. We couldn't have picked a better place. The lodge itself was immaculate and highly impressed us all, as did the cup cakes left for us on our arrival, which was a nice little touch. The view was stunning, and was even better enjoyed in the hot tub with a glass of wine (which was where we stayed for most of the weekend!). Some of us went for a walk around the lake whilst others took the boat out. The hot tub and sauna were well used! We stayed Friday to Monday and were completely relaxed by the end of the weekend. It was just what we needed. We were sad to leave. I will definitely be back, next time with my husband and 19 month old son, who I'm sure will love the ducks, Dave the swan and your very friendly dog Leah. The girls and I are already saving for a return trip next year. HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 bedroom Heron Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed over the Easter Weekend 2013. First time in Arctic Skua, but we've been several times before in other lodges, all of of which have been at the same wonderful 5* luxury standard.

We love to stay in luxury lodges, preferably near water, always with a hot tub, and Tranquil Otter ticks all the boxes. The lodges are always clean, well equiped and beautifully presented.

Our Easter break was everything we'd hoped for, and more. Great walks for Jess (our Cocky Spaniel), and total relaxation for us with a fantastic hot tub, rowing on the Lough and stunning views from living room, bedroom and deck. You really can't beat sitting in the hot tub on a clear, cool, starry night with only the sound of and the odd owl or quack for the peaceful Lough to disturb the tranquillity... Heaven!

Thanks to Nick and Tazeem for making it possible, and lovely to meet Tazeem and friendly dog Leah again on this trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Having stumbled upon The Tranquil Otter via an internet search last year , we have enjoyed both our 'mini moon', a short break away with friends and a relaxing spring break! We have visited a number of places and have always said that we'd never return to the same place twice, always wanting to explore something new. However, we eat our words! While we continue to venture off to new places, what we have found from The Tranquil Otter is something unique; a place where we know that we can completely relax and switch off , our retreat when we need to recharge, reconnect and reboot! We are sure others feel the same from the number of comments made by numerous returning guests. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have returned home today after 4 blissfull nights over the Easter Break we stayed in Field Fare lodge ! We enjoyed the peace and quiet and totally chilled out , facilities are very good , well equipped kitchen cosy sitting area with log burner and clean comfortable bed, bathroom was also really nice especially for a bath dweller like me !! Only used the hot tub once but it was lovely and relaxing especially whilst watching all the birds and ducks on the lake ! We visited Gretna Green and the Solway firth we also went to Keswick and Ullswater ! It is very peaceful at the Tranquil Otter didn't even see any other people until this morning whilst packing the car to leave you wouldn't know anybody else was staying there , we had one small problem in that our hot water wasn't as hot as I,d like it mentioned to Tazeem and it was sorted out straight away , both Nick and Tazeem were very nice and so obviously care about the environment they have created, all in all lovely break wish we could of stayed longer ! Feel thoroughly chilled .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, didn't want to leave, the pictures of the views and cabins look stunning yet still don't really do it justice, needs to be seen to be appreciated. We will be returning in August and really looking forward to it!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arctic Skua, and thoroughly enjoyed it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had an incredible time in ChiffChaff at the Tranquil Otter!
We booked a long weekend and we were very close to barricading the doors forever! We are so disappointed to be back to reality as it was heaven!
The view from the cabin is so beautiful. We couldn't keep our eyes off of the wildlife or scenery.
We highly recommend feeding the ducks and going for a walk around the lake. So simple, yet so worth it. Although bring wellies! We took the supplied 'bird book' to try our hand at being 'twitchers'.... We found a woodpecker, and what we think might have been a buzzard. We'll stick to the day jobs I think.
We also recommend going out onto the lake in the canoe. Although don't make the same mistake we did, by commenting on how windy it is, and still go out!!! After a small encounter with some reeds and being taunted by a few ducks, we managed to get back to the cabin dry.... Just!
Tazeem manageress is lovely, and a few visits from Leah the dog made a nice treat.
We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tranquil Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tranquil Otter

Address: Thurstonfield, Carlisle CA5 6HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tranquil Otter 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering Lodges by the Lake, with private hot tub, own boat and log burner and superfast broadband. We have one, two and three bedroom lodges. Great for a family break with a well behaved dog. Enjoy walking, relaxing, spa treatments in your lodge? Enjoy the open countryside then look no further. Book online, by email or phone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tranquil Otter Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tranquil Otter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.