We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallo Rosso

Gallo Rosso
Parkhouse Road, Carlisle CA6 4BY, England
01228526037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 272 Restaurants in Carlisle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Have just had a birthday meal and the service & food was excellent. There were six of us in the party & we all had our food served at the same time. The waiter serving us was very attentive & friendly. The drinks are not overpriced. It is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've just been to the Gallo Rosso, Parkhouse, Carlisle for Sunday lunch to celebrate my wife's and our friend's birthdays. We've been previously for evening meals but this was the first Sunday lunch. The food was exceptional and very nicely presented. The total cost of food and drink was very reasonable. I would certainly go again on a Sunday !! Closed on a Tuesday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
english lake district
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Superb lunch top quality prepared by the owner just for you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Over a period of years my wife and myself have eaten lunch here many times and it is consistently excellent.Service slick everything a delight in presentation and flavour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We came for a meal here at the weekend and having been a few times over 5 years previous (despite living a mile away) were surprised that that menu was exactly the same!
Service was ok buy we were very rushed through which should not be the case for the price of this meal! £170 for 4 people and we sat down at 7 and all 3 courses ate by 8!
Food ok nothing special and lot worth a return visit. Goats cheese starter was literally a piece of goats cheese with a pinch of salad and chutney for £7. Mains were small, maybe to advocate fine dining when actually every meal could of been prepared at home easily. Steak with 3 potatoes and 2 pieces of broccoli for £21.
All in all will continue to bypass here and go into town for much nicer food at a more welcoming pace.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“SUPER SUNDAY LUNCH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We live only 3 or so miles away but for some reason kept forgetting about Gallo Rosso as an option . However a good friend of ours and who knows his food and wine visits regularly for Sunday lunch so we gave it a go .

We had a super 3 course lunch , food was superb , a really good lunch , we both had the beef , but different excellent starters and super deserts ( well done to the desert chef )

Service good and staff very pleasant , thorughly enjoyble and would strongly recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Rosso also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Gallo Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallo Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.