We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angus Hotel to your Saves list
Angus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Scotland Road | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Carlisle
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A good B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A typical B&B room was good as you would expect, very typical.
Restaurant ajoining but appears to be subject to demand in the evening.

Prking on the street or with a free voucher in the nearby small car park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngusHotelOwners, Owner at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review and pleased you were happy with your room and stay. With reference to meals in the evening, I would just like to clarify that this service is available 6 days per week and not subject to demand. We serve meals in the dining area of our large residents lounge and use the restaurant/bar for pre-booked functions and serving breakfasts for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
47
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a hotel that does not have a pleasant look from outside! we worried a little about going in. It is on a very busy road and looks a bit sad. But entering you are met with a bright welcoming hallway to reception. The owners are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless, as is the whole hotel, with everything you would need. There are, it seems, lots of corridors with little steps of stairs here and there but all well lit and spotlessly clean. Quite quirky really! We could not hear any traffic noise (our room was at the back and it might be different at the front of the hotel). Breakfast was more than adequate and all cooked food was made to order using local produce, with plenty of cereals/fresh fruit/ juice etc. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Do not be put off by the outside!

Room Tip: maybe rooms at the back would avoid traffic noise from a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngusHotelOwners, Owner at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the tme to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with everything. With reference to your comment about the front of the building, it is well maintained but we agree it is not the most picturesque buiding to look at from the outside. In the Spring and Summer we do try to fill the front with hanging baskets and colourful flowering containers so on your next visit it should look more attractive than it does in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Myself and my friend travelled to Carlisle for the night as I had a job interview at the hospital. Check in process was efficient and extremely friendly. I was given a map and directions to the hospital and also advised to set off earlier than I had planned due to road works in the area.
Evening meal was of an excellent quality and value.
Sleep was great and I have to say that the sofa was extremely comfortable. My friend says the same for the bed.
Breakfast the following morning was again of a high quality and check out process was efficient.
Would not hesitate to stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Initially, we were a little hestitant about staying at this hotel from the outside view but Rachel was so friendly and helpful we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. It looks like a hotel but has the attention to detail and personal service of a bed and breakfast. We required washing done, Rachel ensured it was done the same night we checked in and returned to us the next morning, which we greatly appreciated. The hotel was located only a short walk to all the main attractions. It offers a dinner menu which was great after a long day sight seeing. Rachel also allowed us to bring take away meals in providing plates and cutlery which was another bonus. The only minor downside was our room was a little too warm even after adjusting the radiator. Overall a great place to stay to explore the region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

had a great stay here only sorry it wasn't for longer.The owners were very welcoming and our room extremely clean and comfortable.We were lucky to be able to experience the evening meal which was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection,(if you can please eat here in the evening highly reccommended), great value too.We thouroughly enjoyed breakfast, choice of cereals, lots of fruit and yoghurt , breakfast juices and any combination of cooked you required.Parking at the hotel is just around the corner, the owner will give you a ticket to display in the local carpark (no charge), town centre just a short 10 minute walk though there is a pub,carry out /sit in restaurant, supermarket, stationers etc close by to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Used TripAdvisor to identify a few candidates for a long weekend in Carlisle and came up trumps.

Reviews spot on, 100% helpful and accurate - made life easy

Chose Angus Hotel as it was pretty close to the town centre and on the main road through town. Less than 10 minutes from motorway, which was perfect having driven from Aberdeen,

Arrived and checked in. Staff helpful throughout stay,
Rooms clean, bright and airey, and great value.

Parking is free and close by and free wi-fi in all rooms. Good strength signal, which was tremendous

Rooms have been modernised, en suite shower was good - plenty of hot water.
Restaurant good and breakfast was cooked to order so no sacrificed bacon. Very good breakfast.

If i was to record any negative points they would be as follows:

1. please put a bigger TV in rooms - makes all the difference
2. orange juice at breakfast was not good - for a little added outlay - you could get better juices to compliment what was a very hearty and fresh breakfast

Very hospitable owner - nothing too much trouble

Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent a nice couple of days at this cute little B&B. The staff are so sweet and the place is warm and cosy. The breakfast wasn't that good (not much variety; you'd be fine if you like the typical English breakfast). The restaurant wasn't open for dinner on either evening during our stay (there was an Indian restaurant that was good and open till later, so was another restaurant closer to the train station). Carlisle shuts down pretty early in the evening though, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 14-16 Scotland Road | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel, situated just 10 minutes walk to Carlisle city centre. The building itself dates back to the 1850’s, so has plenty of charm and character retaining many original features. It has undergone an extensive programme of refurbishment ensuring guests have all the modern facilities they require during their stay.If you are looking for hotel accommodation in Carlisle that provides exceptional friendly service, comfortable spotlessly clean rooms with modern facilities, free wi-fi, quality breakfasts, informal evening dining and a fully licensed bar then look no further.All bedrooms are tastefully styled and furnished, including flat screen TV's, free Wi-Fi and fully refurbished ensuite bathrooms. Almonds is the hotel's cosy restaurant, where breakfast is served and is available for private parties and functions. Every guest is assured of a warm and friendly welcome with a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.