We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most hospitable, friendliest staff & the most amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandros Greek Restaurant

Alexandros Greek Restaurant
66-68 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1DR, England
+44 1228 592227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 272 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Alexandros comprises of two dining areas.One you can see from the road ,the second being tucked away in the back .The rear dining room has a very private feel to it and is an excellent venue for small private parties.We also boast our Deli which provides an excellent lunchtime menu.You can take away our homemade Greek delights in the Deli or sit and enjoy them in the rear of the restaurant.You can also enjoy a coffee and some delicious homemade cakes and Greek sweets.Alexandros is a small family business of 14 years.We enjoy welcoming our loyal customers day to day and we look forward to meeting new customers .
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most hospitable, friendliest staff & the most amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have chosen this restaurant as a location to meet friends, host birthday parties - whether it is mine or a family members and each & every time the service and food has been excellent.

I have been to the restaurant on busy nights and through the week and also before it was extended. The attentiveness of the staff has always been great, even when they are rushed off their feet. Simple by coming over (not in a constant way) to check if you are ok and if the food is alright.

During quieter times, the chef has come out to talk to me and my table - greek origin, which is great as you know he knows what he is cooking!!!

I have also booked the extension out for a family party - my 92 year old aunty LOVES the restaurant, and as the opening times start at lunch time it was ideal for her to have a lunch party!! all staff were, as usual, very happy to help and we even got shown how to do the greek dance, with party goers and staff joining in - a great family vibe, and it shows in the consistent quality that it is family run.

A gem of a restaurant in Carlisle - something you would expect to find in london for the locals!! The deli next door, also by alexandros is exquisite!! A Must see/go experience :-) :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    64
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alexandros has done it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

visited once again for New years eve and again had such a wonderful time , very warm and welcoming , the food was excellent and just kept coming, the service was very good too , our children loved it and we were all made to feel very welcome , loved the greek dancing and music . Alexandros deli next door is a must too .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagdad, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

went there on friday took 20 min to get table only 3 couples was in had greek fetta salad ok cheese balls ok followd by stifado x2 3 small glasses of fresh orang 1 lemonade 1 garlic bread which we left which had no tastof garlic at all £43.40 Wish we had gone to michaelangelos as we had intended in end paid up and went wont rush back ps its v clean though. also 33cl bud is £3.74!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarula, Owner at Alexandros Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback.However we feel the need to start replying, as you have taken the time, commenting on your expierience, at our family run buisness established now for 13 years.
You did dine with us late on Thursday 6th not Friday.When you arrived you selected a bigger table than we offered ,which was no problem, so we quickly reset the table, moving a couple of chairs to make it comfy for you.This would only take a few minutes, not 20.
Aris the owner remembers double checking if you would like plain or garlic pitta,and you answered plain.This is why you could taste no garlic and you were charged for plain pitta.
We can't understand the budweiser comment, as you only had soft drinks.To set the record straight our 330ml budweiser is £3.25 not £3.74 as you stated.
Also we couldn't understand the need to mention another restaurant in our review .We would never like it if our regular customers used our name to damage another restaurants.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Pathanoglou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful authentic Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Delicious authentic greek food, fantastic meze...food just kept coming. Lovely atmosphere, staff attentive and accomodating especially with our 2 children. Can't wait to return for another piece of socolatina...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It's fast become my favourite restaurant in carlisle. The food, service and atmosphere are second to none. The Deli next door is great too for taking the whole experience home with you. All in all highy recommended!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandros Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alexandros Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandros Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.