We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Express
21 Lowther Street, Carlisle CA3 8ES, England
+44 (0)1228 599638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 280 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Carlisle offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been a Pizza Express fan for some time but this disappointed. It was a small restaurant but we were only grudgingly allocated a table - and told we had to be out by a certain time. This was ok as we had a train to catch.

Waiter was friendly, helpful and the food was ok. For some crazy reason this place has given up using plates. 3 of us ordered the 'light' option;a small pizza with the in the middle. In every other branch I've eaten this it has been great.

On this occasion however, the pizza dough was so thin is was more like a potato crisp than a pizza base - and it was served on the most disgusting black (greying), plastic chopping board. They were grim, scratched, dull - just plain horrible. The combined effect of the thin base and the plastic board - cold pizza.

We pointed this out to the waiter who said they were also very difficult for waiters to carry

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bank on a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've been to Pizza Express before, so knew what to expect, but then that is the good thing about these sort of chain restaurants - the quality is normally the same across them all. We had a nice window seat, looking out at the Carlisle architecture, and the staff were attentive, friendly, and helpful. Despite the name, I usually go for pasta when I'm eating Italian, and it was very tasty again, although perhaps a little overly cheesy. The shared starter, and individual desserts were very nice too, and overall we had a very enjoyable evening.

The restaurant was full on this Sunday night, so I recommend reserving a table - someone who entered just before us was turned away as they hadn't reserved a table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disgusting - can't I give no stars????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Don't know what has happened to this place but they're now totally disorganised - not ready for bookings and happy to turn customers away who have booked - probably best to stay away until they sort themselves out!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't bother booking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had booked a table for two at 8.15 pm on 8 August. When we arrived at 8.10 pm we were told that our table had been taken by other people and would not be available for 20 minutes and that as there was nowhere to wait we should go away for a drink somewhere else. We were also told that there was no guarantee that the table would be free in 20 minutes as we had to wait for the people who had taken our table to finish their meal. We were offered free drinks with out meal if we would accept the situation.

I am disgusted by the lack of service. When we passed the restaurant at 7.50 pm to go for a drink because we were early for our reservation we noticed that there were several empty tables. In other words they gave our reserved table to people who turned up without bookng. Having been a very regular customer who has taken many of my clients and colleaues to eat there I can tell you that I will never return. What is the point in having a booking system if it is ignored!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Food was great, We visited with our tesco voucher and overall the meal was lovely and staff were friendly :) Though personally if we didn't have the vouchers we would'nt visit as it's pretty pricey.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.