We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai1

Thai1
82A East Hill, Colchester CO1 2QW, England
01206 870770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 362 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food and very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Dined here for an early meal with a group of 12 "mature" women (i.e. we weren't in our 20's!) before heading out for a cocktail making class as part as a civilised hen weekend. We had a pre-arranged set menu for an astonishing cheap price, and the food was great quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    31
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have visited Thai 1 many times and can categorically state that this restaurant is the best in Colchester, I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in East Anglia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Was in Colchester on business and fancied Thai food. This was a great Thai restaurant with superb food and friendly efficient staff. The ice cream for dessert was out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good - but didn't live up to the fantastic reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Decided to try this place whilst in the area on business - based upon the strength of the trip advisor reviews. Made the effort to walk across Colchester and was expecting something really fantastic - what I got was OK but nothing more. I am not however a regular eater of Thai food - so my comment need to be taken in that context. I ordered the Poh Tak soup - a mixed seafood soup with Chilli, lemon grass and lime leaf. I enjoyed this - although it was quite insubstantial for a £5.95 starter. I then had the Pat Thai Jay - which was OK - but nothing more - and tasted a bit over sweet and slightly charred. Overall the meal with a couple of beers came to just under £20 - so not over the top in terms of price - and all was OK - but doubt that I would make a special effort to visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't keep away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My favourite Thai restaurant ever. Keep going back love it what more can I say! Food is consistently brilliant owner and staff are fantastic. Would highly recommend for a fantastic evening. Best Thai restaurant in essex. Will definitely be back

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai1 also viewed

 

Been to Thai1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.