We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disgusting crap i have ever wasted money on” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mirchi Rasoi

Mirchi Rasoi
71 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RQ, England
01206 567496
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $41 - $51
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Most disgusting crap i have ever wasted money on”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Popped in for a takeaway tonight place empty, floor dirty why an earth did i not walk out i do not know! Gave it the benefit of doubt BAD BAD BAD MOVE!! If you eat/take out from this place your taste buds will be melted by salt content of every dish, their food is foul, un-consumable and will completely revolt you. BE WARNED

PS. had to give it one star but it was worse than terrilbe

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    4
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I love this Restaurant - it serves real Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Don't go to this restaurant if you want run of the mill Anglo-Indian Tandoori with the bought sauces they all use. this place cooks the real deal and it is wonderful. I have been with some who loved it and some who preferred the mainstream stuff but if you want something different and very tasty, this is the place. Lovely setting too

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Don't go for the boring usuals, try their specials, that is what the place is all about - particulary ask for their Mum's Tandoori Chicken!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not the usual Indian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I've been here a few times with work colleagues and we have all come to the conclusion that this is the best Indian in Colchester now.

The décor and furnishings in Indian restaurants frequently seem to leave something to be desired, but the interior here seems to be noticeable cut above the competition.

The waiting staff are very attentive, and when asking for recommendations, a lady (owner maybe) came over and was happy to talk at length about various dishes which showed a real passion in the food. The prices may be a little higher than some other Indians, but I have no problems with this given the excellent quality of the food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrid experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

Bad service they didn't know what lager tops was, didnt know what Malibu was, ordering was grief food was bad, fish wasn't cooked, miserable portions, they forgot the nans, never ever again.. Spoilt my sat nite

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirchi Rasoi also viewed

Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Mirchi Rasoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirchi Rasoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.