We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to see The Warehouse Grill is back to a high standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Warehouse

The Warehouse
12 Chapel Street North, Colchester CO2 7AT, England
+44 (0)1206 765656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 358 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Voted best burger in essex 2013. Great value steaks and fantastic cocktails...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Glad to see The Warehouse Grill is back to a high standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited lunchtime on the 27th December - first time I've been back there for 15 years.

Great decor and atmosphere

Great value £9.95 for homemade burger & a pint - tasty burger & bun. I prefer my hips a bit more cooked but well presented.

Staff very friendly especially the male manager on duty.

Pity I live in London otherwise I'd be visiting a lot more. The evening menu looks great too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    48
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend went here after looking at previous reviews to see if they lived up to their reputation. They sure did! We went at around 2pm, didn't book, just asked for a table for two, our waiter was very friendly. I ordered honey roasted parsnip soup for start and brushetta for main, my girlfriend ordered muscles for start and venison burger for mains. The food was delicious! We go to a lot of restaurants in Ipswich, and this is on par with The Bistro and The Mariners. Very well presented also, we liked the flat slates our mains were presented on. Overall, for 2 courses each and a lovely hot chocolate with marshmallows, came to just under £23. Great value. We will definitely be coming back here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Juliets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Juliets are a group of ladies who meet at an eatery once a month. (Juliet stands for Jolly Useful Ladies Interested In Eating) This is one of our favourite places. Food and service both brilliant. good atmosphere convenient for town centre

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atmospheric gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We last visited for a pre theatre dinner, but have been regular visitors to this lovely restaurant over the past year. The service is always welcoming and attentive without rushing you, the menu imaginative, (with plenty of vegetarian options), and the food excellent. We've particularly enjoyed the steak nights!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steak nights - worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with 5 colleagues during a business trip last week. We saw they offered a steak night on a Tuesday, so opted to go for that and we weren't disappointed.
The restaurant itself is lovely, quite quirky with a mezzanine level which we sat on, and lots of wood everywhere. Not too big and not too small.
The waitress and manager were very attentive and we were not waiting for anything for long. Drinks arrived quickly and the wine menu yielded some excellent bottles of wine. The menu is not overly big but there is lots of choice and the prices are reasonable.
Starters were very good - I shared the sharing platter which was excellent. We all had steaks for our main courses which were cooked well, and the accompaniments of onion rings, dauphinoise potatoes and chips were very nice. However the one thing that let the otherwise excellent food down was the peppercorn sauce! It was more like gravy with a few peppercorns in it, and was very watery not creamy at all. In fact it lacked in flavour completely. I think four or five of the six of us had ordered this sauce, and it was something that every single one of us commented on!
I will definitely be back however as the menu was good and, other than the peppercorn sauce, the food was tasty and I would say good value for money! Well worth a visit!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Warehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.