We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacqueline's Tea Room

Jacqueline's Tea Room
14 Short Wyre Street | Essex, Colchester CO1 1LN, England
+44 1206 576241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 381 Restaurants in Colchester
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a beautiful place!
Friendly and attentive staff, a wonderful selection of teas and a beautiful ambiance.
Also reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lovely tea shop, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited here twice in the last couple of weeks, once with just my wife and once with her and both my teenage sons. Both times we had great service, the staff are very friendly. There is a great choice of teas and I look forward to trying more. The food is very fresh and tastes great. My only gripes are that I would like to see more choice of meals such as quiches and it is a little expensive. However I will definitely go again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Colchester.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stumbled upon this tea room while out on a bike run with Lakeside HOG Chapter (Harley Davidson). The hosts graciously received us and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The cake and smoothes were exceptional, as was the service! The decor and atmosphere was unique. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A great reminder of my early childhood memories. Good food, attentive service, great choice of tea and a quiet spot in a busy town

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful place for coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I came across this on my first trip to Colchester this morning. Received a very warm welcome and enjoyed a delicious latte and a very tasty peanut coffee. Was then joined by my sister, who had a berry smoothie, which was DELICIOUS.
I love the retro theme and will definitely return next time I am in town.
We were unable to return for lunch, which was a shame because the food choices looked lovely and everything was very reasonably priced.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacqueline's Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Jacqueline's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacqueline's Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.