We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Surf N Turf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Stoke By Nayland, Colchester CO6 4SE, England
01206 262001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Surf N Turf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Bit of a twist, but had squid for starter, cooked perfectly, followed by locally reared beef steak with mushroom & garlic sauce. Service was great and atmosphere was lovely. Going again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    43
    32
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Tonight they were short staffed so not all the restaurant was open. The service was ok to begin with and then nonexistent. For our 2nd round of drinks I had to go to the bar to order. When my food eventually came I had to send it back as it wasn't cooked properly. What a terrible evening and it wasn't a cheap meal out. All I can say is if you haven't enough staff then it probably is best for customers that you don't open. What a horrible experience. And we feel cheated that a mid week meal was so upsetting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I think that, as reviews will generally tend to be largely subjective, it’s always vital to read a good selection to get a real feel for a place.
On this basis, I think our Tripadvisor feedback gives a fairly good indication of what The Crown is all about: delicious food, carefully prepared from the freshest and best ingredients and priced accordingly; a great selection of interesting and competitively-priced wines, beers and spirits; a well-designed and luxuriously-appointed Hotel with the emphasis on comfort and care; last but by no means least, efficient and friendly service throughout.
To those of you who have loved what we do, we look forward to welcoming you back; to those who are still unsure, visit us again and see if we can’t convince you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My main dish was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented: the disappointment was from very poor service - trying to get the attention of waiter to place our dessert order and then have to wait nearly 20 minutes for them to arrive spoiled our evening. The cheese board was modest at best - a good piece of stilton; a very tasteless ewes milk soft cheese and a peculiar cheddar that was foreign to my palate as it appeared to be quite young and offering none of the nutty taste and crumbly texture we associate with good cheddars.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMSunderland, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Don't think our supplier of these award winning cheeses would be very happy with your review. Personally, I think the Godminster Cheddar is stunning and the Wigmore soft cheese excellent.but everyone has their own opinion Michael, especially our friends from down under.

Come and visit us again soon to try the Dorset Blue Vinny, Sharpham and Westcombe Cheddar, like our overall menu, the cheeses are changed regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Eat here with some friends, fantastic wine selection, but the service has gone down hill not a good sign for such a lovely place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good - as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Just called in for dinner. Great food - the asparagus starter was superb - and a comfortable, relaxed environment. Friendly table staff too. Would recommend. Love the stillness and the dark as you step back out to the car park.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Stoke by Nayland, Suffolk
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Nayland, Suffolk
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.